Leo Golden Globes

The Golden Globes are over for this year and it was quite an interesting night. The Revenant looks strong entering the Oscars after 3 big wins including Best Actor, Best Director and Best Picture. There were some questionable winners, so lets break down each category and see who won.

Best Animated Film

Inside Out was an easy choice this year, although there were some other strong animated films, Inside Out stood high above them all.

Best Original Song

“Writing’s on the Wall” from Spectre won this one and although I would have preferred “One Kind Of Love” from Love & Mercy, Sam Smith did fit well with the opening to this years bond film, so I’m not too upset about this one.

Best Original Score

I was very pleased when Ennio Morricone won for his fantastic score for the Hateful Eight. Morricone added so much to the Hateful Eight and it was great to see a masterful composer honored for his masterful work.

Best Screenplay

Aaron Sorkin was at the bottom of my list against these other screenplays, so I was surprised when he won tonight. I’m a fan of Sorkin, I just didn’t feel like this was some of his best work. I would have liked to have seen Tarantino win or even Emma Donoghue for Room.

Best Director

I was routing for George Miller for this one but I’m also a big fan of Alejandro González Iñárritu and wasn’t too surprised to see him win the Globe. What he did with The Revenant was truly remarkable and definitely well deserved.

Best Supporting Actress

I had a weird gut feeling going into this that Kate Winslet was going win and it wasn’t undeserved, but I really thought Alicia Vikander should have won tonight, she was outstanding in Ex Machina.

Best Supporting Actor

“It ain’t over till its over” 40 years after the original Rocky and now here we are tonight, Sylvester Stallone wins the Golden Globe and hopefully will win the Oscar in February! The wonderful speech from Sly was by far my favourite moment of the night.

Best Actress in a Musical or Comedy

Now I liked Joy and I enjoyed Jennifer Lawrence’s performance but I don’t think she deserved this win. I really wanted Amy Schumer to win tonight because you know… her film was a comedy. I also thought that Schumer was surprisingly really good in Trainwreck.

Best Actor in a Musical or Comedy

This was one of the more predictable category of the show. I was secretly routing for Al Pacino but ultimately Matt Damon deserved to win.

Best Actress

Another predictable one, which just puts emphasis on how good Brie Larson was in Room because this year was stacked with really good female performances.

Best Actor

This was interesting. I thought Michael Fassbender for sure was going to win and if not Fassbender, then Eddie Redmayne. But DiCaprio won and rightfully so. If anything this is just to soften the blow, for when he doesn’t win the Oscar, like in previous years.

Best Musical or Comedy

The Marian wins, despite it clearly not being a comedy and defiantly not a musical (I think?).

Best Picture Drama

The Revenant wins giving it a total of 3 awards tonight. I predicted earlier today that Spotlight was going to win but throughout the night I started to question that, as I didn’t win any other awards. I would have liked to see Room or Mad Max win but The Revenant was a very solid film and deserves all the praise and awards its received.

 

So that’s it. The Golden Globes are finished and put away for another year. I thought there were some missteps but overall a pretty decent show. Would have liked to of seen Mad Max been shown some love but at least Stallone got his moment. If I could choose Room would have won everything, but that’s just me. Let me know what you thought of the show in the comments and don’t miss tomorrow my first set of nominations for the inaugural RJ Awards!

@rjreed09

