2015 was a pretty good year for film but now its time to count down the top ten films I’m most looking forward to in 2016!

10 

Doctor Strange                                                                                                                Doctor Strange    

If the new images and concept art for Doctor Strange didn’t get you excited, this film is probably not for you. Benedict Cumberbatch looks awesome as Doctor Strange and at this point I’m pumped to see anything Marvel.

9

Jungle Book

jungle book poster

Jon Favreau is one of my favourite directors working today and The Jungle Book looks like its going to be amazing. The Trailers for this film have blown me away with how beautiful the CGI looks and with that voice cast, I’m in.

8

Bourne 5

bourne 5

I’m a huge fan of the Bourne series but Bourne Legacy, wasn’t that great. Now that Matt Damon is returning along with Paul Greengrass…. YES!

7

Deadpool

deadpool

I was always excited for Deadpool when it was finally announced but this marketing campaign has been the greatest of all time. The marketing for this film has skyrocketed my excitement and has made it my number 7 most anticipated.

Suicide Squad

suicide squad

I’m still not too sure how I feel about Suicide Squad, that’s why I’m so excited to see if it sucks or not. I think Jared Leto and Margot Robbie  will be great as Joker but everyone else I’m not to 100% confident. Also Jai Courtney. Fuck.

5

Zootopia 

zootopia

I love Disney and I’ve recently loved the worlds they have created in Wreck-It Ralph and Big Hero 6. Zootopia seems to be setting up another great world, with endless potential for sequels.

4

Captain America: Civil War 

Civil war

Mommy and daddy are fighting and it’s glorious. The second Marvel film on the list is the sequel to my favourite film the studio has put out, so I have high expectations. The trailer didn’t disappoint and with the Russo Brothers returning I think were going to be OK.

3

Fantastic Beast and Where to Find Them

fantastic beasts

I grew up with the Harry Potter books and film, so I’m a big fan. Although there’s not really much to go on, just the fact that J.K Rowling is writing the screenplay and David Yates is back to direct, it’s enough to make this my third most anticipate film of the year.

2

Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice

bat v supes

Mommy and daddy are fighting in May but before that your two older brothers are kicking ass in March. I quite happily say that if I could be anyone, I would be Batman. So I’m excited to see Batman kick the crap out of Superman. Yes the latest trailer showed to much but that can’t stop how excited I am for the first two thirds of this film, because lets be honest the third act is probably gonna suck.

1

Star Wars: Rogue One

rogue one

The Force Awakens resurrected Star Wars by returning to the feel of the original trilogy. Rogue One however seems as tho it’s going to be an intense war film that’s going to breathe fresh air into the Star Wars universe. I love the Star Wars episodes just as much as anyone else but what I really love about the universe George Lucas created, is that he created a whole universe to explore. I can’t wait to see a new crew of characters (and maybe Darth Vader?) and the journey they take in a galaxy far far away.

So that’s my list and what a great year ahead we have. A lot of comic book films but that’s fine with me. I just want to include some honorable mentions that just didn’t quite make the list:

Assassins Creed                                                                                                                   X-Men: Apocalypse                                                                                                         Ghostbusters                                                                                                                       The BFG                                                                                                                                 Star Trek Beyond                                                                                                                 Finding Dory

Let me know in the comments what films your looking forward to seeing in 2016 and check back next Tuesday for another top ten.

 

 

