I’ve been watching The Flash since it started and since then have never liked the show. I started watching because I like Arrow, (although even that is starting to slip) but now Ithe-flash feel like I’m being forced to watch Flash, to stay in the loop when it crosses over with Arrow. I want to like the show and there definitely are aspects that I enjoy but overall I just can never get into an episode. Hopefully someone can explain to me what I’m missing but until then lets talk about The Flash. Oh and I’ll probably spoil some things, so if you don’t want to know any spoiler, go away!

I’ll start with what I like about the show. First of all Tom Cavanagh, who plays Dr. Wells is so much fun and has kept me coming back every week. Throughout season 1 he constantly had me guessing, as to whether he was good or evil and the conclusion to his character was great at the end of the season. I like some of the other cast, Grant Gustin, Jesse L. Martin and Carlos Valdes is fine but none of them standout as much as Cavanagh, except for Mark Hamill’s guest appearances, which were great (in fact Mark Hamill is the best part about this show). Just like Arrow has amazing stunt work, The Flash has some really terrific special effects for a TV show, Grodd, the singularity at the end of season 1 and of course those awesome speedster battles. And that’s about everything I like.

Now that’s out of the way…. WHAT THE FUCK IS UP WITH THIS SHOW! Seriously I can’t understand why so many people love The Flash. Most of the acting is fine but at times it gets really bad. Wentworth Miller, I like him but he needs to tone it down. I get that he’s purposely playing a mustache twirling villain but it gets to a point where his over acting just becomes annoying, and don’t even get me started on his partner, “Heat Wave” in the battle for who can be the most over the top, super evil bad guy.

Arrow has Laurel and The Flash has Iris. I honestly don’t know who I hate more. Iris just doesn’t add anything to the show and there just following the Oliver and Felicity love story that everyone loves, that’s already being done on Arrow (and every other CW show, Arrow isn’t exacting stepping outside the box). The sooner Iris gets hit with a lightning bolt the better. Also hoping we don’t see Eddie Thawne back, again just another cut and paste story line from Arrow (Tommy Merlyn) and come to think of it Harrison Wells is going down the same path as Malcolm from Arrow too.

The most painful, frustrating and just completely stupid element of The Flash is Barry’s powers. Every single week Barry comes up against an opponent that he could beat with ease. Time and time again we see how he can run so fast the everyone around him is frozen, so why when he fight Captain Cold he can’t run that fast and just punch him in the face is beyond me. The amount of cop out answers the writers come up with to get them selves out of corners is unbelievable. There’s a telepathic giant gorilla running loose, don’t worry Cisco can just magic up some anti-mind control earbuds (side note Cisco’s nerd t shirts and references, I appreciate a lot).

Look, I know I’m in the minority and this show isn’t going to change and it shouldn’t because one idiot like me thinks it sucks, but I just find it unbearable. Maybe I’m just spoilt by how good TV is right now and I just hold everything up to the standards of Breaking Bad and Game of Thones. When Arrow and Flash starts back up again this week I will review them but just be warned I probably won’t have many nice things to say about The Flash.

Let me know why I’m wrong about The Flash and if you hate The Flash as much as me please tell me, there must be more of us!

@rjreed09

