We are less than two months away from the release of Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice and a lot of people are worried that the film is going to be too crowded. Since the initial announcement of the film, it’s become increasingly more packed, with plot points, characters, actors, villains, cameos and so much more. So I’m going to look at all the information and try to decipher if, Zack Snyder had planned this all along or are we going to see DC try to play catch-up with Marvel and fail.

Before I start I want to just state that I don’t participate in the fanboy war of “Marvel vs Dc”, I love superhero films and all I want to see is good films, whether from Marvel or DC, I don’t care. I guess I should also say that I liked Man of Steel, I didn’t love it but I liked it, I’m a huge Batman fan and when they announced Batman V Superman, like many other nerds out there I freaked out. So going in, I would love Dawn of Justice to be the greatest superhero film of all time but if it’s not, if it’s only OK, I’ll be fine with it.

So at Comic Con 2013 Zack Snyder announced he was going to be making another “Superman Movie”, an extract from Frank Millers classic graphic novel “The Dark Knight Returns” was read and a Superman symbol, morphed into a Batman V Superman symbol. batman-v-superman logoThe place erupted, the internet exploded and every fanboy everywhere (myself included) went crazy. Zack Snyder said he was going to make another “Superman Movie”, we now know that’s not true and a Man of Steel sequel is happening further down the line. This lead many people to believe that Zack Snyder and Warner Brother, didn’t have much of a plan for the future. Snyder also said at Comic Con, the film was still being wrote, so at that time they knew Batman was going to be in the film but did they know all the other characters that they would later announce, were going to be in  Batman V Superman too?

You can’t help but get the feeling that Warner Brothers have just been making things up as they go along. First it was a Superman sequel, then Batman vs Superman, then Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice. The characters they have added since that first Comic Con announcement are: Wonder Woman, Lex Luthor, Aquaman, The Flash, Cyborg, Alfred, Thomas Wayne, Martha Wayne, Doomsday in the latest trailer and now an image from Empire Magazine heavily suggest a Darkseid cameo. I’ts impossible not to think DC have seen the success of Marvel’s Cinematic Universe and are now trying to create their own.

The way I see the film going down is, hopefully Batman and Superman will fight, Lex Luthor will create Doomsday and Bats and Supes will team up with Wonder Woman to defeat Doomsday. Aquaman, Flash and Cyborg, I hope will only have really small roles for all three of them. I’d be fine if they only mention them and we never see them at all. Alfred will probably have a 5-10 minute scene with Bruce Wayne, just to set him up for the solo Batman film and I don’t know why Thomas and Martha Wayne are in this film for. I’d like Doomsday to be defeated but not killed, you could bring him back later on in a Brainiac storyline or something else. I don’t think we should see Darkseid at all. Leave some easter eggs and hints towards him but I don’t want to see him until the Justice League film. I think overall as long as they don’t try to create storylines and big plot points with all the characters, I think the film could be really good.

Of course then you have “The Amazing Spiderman 2 Effect”. The Amazing Spiderman 2 was meddled by Sony and ultimately you ended up with a director forced to shoehorn in villains and storylines to set up Sinister Six. Could DC be doing the same thing, trying to create a universe but instead of building to something great, they’re forcing their world together. It is worrying that you have all these characters to introduce in 2 ½ hours. They may try in the last 20 minutes to throw in Doomsday, Darkseid, Wonder Woman, Aquaman, Flash and created a really underdeveloped universe that could destroy DC’s cinematic universe.  

I’m an optimist, I think Batman V Superman is going to be fantastic. I think they’re set up characters but do nothing with them, until later films. Batman and Superman will have epic fights, the final battle will be amazing and post March 25th everyone will be singing the praises of Zack Snyder and Warner Brothers.

What do you think will happen in Batman V Superman, do you think they’re trying to hard to be like Marvel or do you think it doesn’t matter as long as they make great films?  

@rjreed09

