The SAG Awards are over and DiCaprio is one step closer to his first Oscar win. I thought the show was fine and most of the winners were correct. So lets look at each film category in detail, to see who won.

leo SAG

Outstanding Performance by a Stunt Ensemble

Mad Max won and it was defiantly well deserved, I just thought the stunts in Mission Impossible were a little bit more breathtaking. As much as I loved Mad Max (I think it’s the better film), the plane scene and the underwater stun in Mission Impossible made me so nervous and had me on the edge of my seat, more than any stunt in Mad Max.

Outstanding Performance by a Cast 

I didn’t know who was going to win this one, I thought it was a race between Spotlight and The Big Short, with an outside chance for Straight Outta Compton. Spotlight won and I thought it was the right choice. There were at least 4 Oscar caliber performance in Spotlight, I defiantly think it was the best acted film of the year.

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Supporting Role

It was great to see Alicia Vikander win tonight, shes been the best performer of this year stealing every film shes in. I liked Kate Winslet in Steve Jobs but I have no idea why she won the Golden Globe earlier this month and I hope Vikander wins at the Oscars later this year.

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Supporting Role

I really thought Jacob Tremblay should have won but I also think he should have been in the lead actor category. Room was told from his perspective and I think he gave the best performance of the year (better than Leo). That being said Idris Elba was fantastic in Beast of No Nation. I was surprised he won, not because he shouldn’t have but because no one had been talking about him winning. I happy for Idris Elba, I’ve been following him since The Wire and its great to see him getting some recognition.

Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Leading Role

This was obvious, it seems to be the only lock for the Oscars and rightfully so. Room was my favorite film of last year and it was the performances that took you through the film, without Brie Larson and Jacob Tremblay, Room doesn’t work.

Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a Leading Role

Leonardo DiCaprio wins another trophy for The Revenant, with just one last big one left. I loved DiCaprio in The Revenant and am really routing for him at the Oscars. He proved in The Wolf of Wall Street, that he can be a very physical actor. The quaalude scene in the Wolf of Wall Street showed his range as an actor, to do physical comedy and in The Revenant he showed a dramatic side to that physical acting. He doesn’t have much dialogue in the film, so everything he expresses is in his facial expressions and movement. The noises he makes when hes hurt are truly heartbreaking, you can hear the pain his character is in mentally and physically, through the sounds he makes. One of the best performances Leo has ever put in, is being justly rewarded.

What did you think of the SAG Awards and do you think they got everything right?

@rjreedfilms

