Deadpool stars Ryan Reynolds (Green Lantern, Buried), Morena Baccarin (Firefly, Homeland), T.J. Miller (Cloverfield) and Ed Skrein (The Transporter Refueled). It’s directed by first time director Tim Miller, who did an outstanding job for his first time. It’s ‘a love story’ about a mercenary who is diagnosed with cancer, he undergoes a rogue experiment and is left with accelerated healing powers.

deadpool-gallery-06-gallery-image

Finally an  R rated comic book film, that’s if for some reason you don’t count Blade, Kick-Ass, Dredd and Kingsman. Seriously there have been R rated comic book films before and to be honest, I don’t even think Deadpool is the best one. It is however maybe the first film to really take advantage of an R rating. I don’t think there’s a single scene in this film that isn’t full of violence or swearing or sex or all three. It doesn’t hold back from the word go so when things get really graphic, it doesn’t feel out of place. From the hilarious opening credits, it sets the tone and sticks with it for the whole film.

There is so much to love about Deadpool. First Deadpool himself. Ryan Reynolds for years has wanted to play Deadpool and finally he has (X- Men Origins doesn’t count), he is perfect for the role and plays it flawlessly. Colossus and Negasonic Teenage Warhead had not only surprisingly large roles but also were really fun. This is the truest depiction of Colossus and it proved that sometimes you don’t have to tweak or change characters from the comics. He’s the complete opposite of Deadpool, which allows them to play of each other really well. Negasonic, I liked but I wanted to know more about her, I didn’t get a complete understanding of what her powers were or who she was. Ed Skrein is the villain and I thought was good but I don’t think he’s going to be a villain that people will love and remember.

deadpool-DMC_2670_v068_matte.1045_rgb

My favourite romances in comic book films have been, Tony Stark and Pepper Potts, Peter Parker and Gwen Stacey and now you can add a new one to the list. Deadpool on the surface, seems like a raunchy, gory, mindless film but actually at it’s core is a touching romantic story. The relationship between Deadpool and Vanessa, is one you buy into and you’re rooting for them to succeed. Reynolds and Baccarin have great chemistry and you believe they’re two weirdos, who fall in love. I’m a big fan of Morena Baccarin from TV shows, so I was happy to see her in a really strong role, on the big screen.

The humor for me was almost spot on. The breaking of the fourth wall was something I was really excited to see and it didn’t disappoint. The meta humor for me gave the biggest laughs. The film is very self aware and constantly makes fun of past comic book films, Ryan Reynolds, the studio and itself. It is constantly throwing jokes at you so even if a joke doesn’t make you laugh, another one hits and you’re laughing out loud. I think some of the meta jokes will go over a  lot of peoples heads if you’re not a die hard fan of comic book films, Deadpool is a film for the fans and as a fan, I really appreciate that. I’m far from a prude but for me dick and masturbation jokes, don’t really make me laugh. I’m not against all sex jokes but I could of done without a few jokes about Deadpool’s crotch.

The construction of how they told the story I thought was tremendous. A large portion of this film is the bridge scene shown in all the trailers but they interrupt the scene, by jumping back in time to tell the origin story. The origin story for Deadpool is nothing spectacular but by having the nonlinear storytelling you never get bored and just when you’re about to they jump back to the bridge scene. This whole section of the film was by far my favorite part of the film.

So Deadpool delivered on everything it promised. I had a lot of fun watching Deadpool and despite some of my minor complaints, I was never bored and will watch Deadpool over and over again. Also stick around after the credits for the best post credits scene ever.

9/10

Have you seen Deadpool and what are your thoughts on the film?

