The Walking Dead have finally made a fascinating episode without action.

Jesus takes Rick and the group to his people at the Hilltop Colony, only to discover that the peaceful town is being bullied by Negan and The Saviors. They must decide to help the Colony, in return for food.

For a really long time now, my biggest problem with The Walking Dead has been when they do episodes that focus on characters or story. Not because all I want to see is action, guts and blood but because the writers repeat the same scenarios over and over. This episode had almost zero action but I was enthralled from the opening scene to the end. They introduced new ideas, new characters and have set up what I think will be the story for a long time. As a non comic book reader, I don’t know what’s going to happen and maybe this will turn out to be the same old Walking Dead, as for right now I have high hopes for the rest of the season.

The episode started with Jesus telling the group that back where he is from, they have food and livestock, he tells them they trade with other communities and that Jesus wants to trade with Alexandria. Right from the word go I was really excited. I’ve always wanted The Walking Dead to expand, the idea of lots of communities trading and living together is something we’ve never seen on this show. Rick, Daryl, Michonne, Glenn, Maggie and Abraham go with Jesus to Hilltop Colony. I loved that this episode didn’t waste anytime. It starts, they go and they get there halfway into the episode. In the past it has taken the show seasons just to get from one place to another, this time they set up a place and we get to see it straight away.

the-walking-dead-episode-611-rick-lincoln-4-935.0

The Hilltop Colony itself I liked. They were ahead of Alexandria in some ways but behind in others. This all made sense, that Jesus would want to trade because each group has something the other needs. We learn that Hilltop Colony is run by Gregory, played by Xander Berkeley. He’s an interesting character and for a second, I was annoyed when I thought they killed him off. I loved when Rick let Maggie negotiate with Gregory because Rick hasn’t had the best luck when it comes to negotiations. The decision also made a lot of sense because Maggie worked well with Deanna in Alexandria.

Again wasting no time, some people come back who have been making a deal with Negan. When the fight starts Rick gets covered in blood and it was a really great scene. Everyone at the Hilltop Colony, now knows that Rick and the group are dangerous people, that could actually beat Negans group. This situation had a Seven Samurai feel to it and I can’t wait to see where it goes. I’m predicting Rick is going to realise Negan is stronger than he thought and maybe someone’s going to die, Glenn and Maggie seem a bit too happy at the moment…

the-walking-dead-episode-611-rick-lincoln-2-935.0

The one part of this episode I didn’t like was Abraham. The direction it looks like they’re going with him, doesn’t interest me in The Walking Dead. I like Abraham’s character and I don’t mind Sasha but a love triangle can stay on the CW thanks. I’d rather they just kill of Rosita, who hasn’t added anything to the show since she arrived.

Not a lot of action but for me this episode was really good. They seem to be moving the story along at a fast pace, that I can really get behind and I can’t wait to see Negan and where he lives. The second half of season six has really started well for me, I’ve enjoyed all the first three episodes back and I’m the most excited for the future of The Walking Dead, than I have been in a long time.

What did you think of the episode and are you really excited like me, to discover what’s going to happen?

