I missed last weeks Marvelous Monday so this week I’m doing two. First one up is Thor.

Thor stars Chris Hemsworth (The Avengers, Rush), Natalie Portman (V for Vendetta, Black Swan), Tom Hiddleston (The Avengers, Crimson Peak) and is directed by Kenneth Branagh (Henry V, Cinderella).

When Thor is banished from Asgard by his father and sent to Earth, he must try to survive without his god powers, whilst trying to return to his home. Meanwhile his brother Loki is plotting a scheme to rule Asgard in his brothers absence.

I’ve been rewatching all the MCU films every week and other than The Incredible Hulk, I’ve been enjoy each film even more than the last time I watched them. Thor was no different. I liked Thor and have seen it a few times but watching it again, I found myself having a lot of fun with the film and enjoying all the characters more than ever before. I wasn’t a big fan of Thor: The Dark World but now I’m really looking forward to watching it again when I get to it. So lets take a look at the many positive things I have to say about Thor and some little negatives points.

Marvel casting is always spot on. Even characters I don’t like (Whiplash in Iron Man 2) are cast perfectly. Thor 2 has brilliant casting. Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston were both unknown but after this film they instantly became huge stars and they’re fantastic in their roles. You look at Chris Hemsworth and he just is Thor, I wouldn’t be surprised if he really is Thor pretending to be an actor. What I loved about this character is that he starts of very cocky and arrogant, he’s not likable but when he’s banished to Earth, Hemsworth’s charisma and humor, makes Thor so much fun to watch. His arc is so satisfying and sets up the character for future films perfectly.

Thor-pics-thor-2011-22155467-2000-1333

The main aspect Marvel has failed in has been their villains. In almost all their films my biggest complaint is the villain is boring and forgettable, well Loki is the exception to that rule. Tom Hiddleston exploded after this film. All the fan girls loved him and all the dudes thought he was the coolest Marvel villain. Every time he makes an appearance as Loki, Hiddleston is having so much fun and that comes through in his performance and you get just as much enjoyment watching him. Loki is a complexed character, you understand why he does everything in this film and there are many moments when you sympathize for him. Hemsworth and Hiddleston play of each other so well and are one of the best on screen brothers of all time.

I love Asgard. What has always sets the Thor films apart from every Marvel film (until Guardians of the Galaxy), is it’s ability to explore other worlds, this also comes into my negatives later. The designs of Asgard and Jotunheim are so cool. Asgard is so colorful and vibrant, it’s impossible to not want to live there. Then on the other hand Jotunheim is dark, cold and looks like a place you’d never want to visit. The small amount of the 9 realms we see in Thor, are full of imagination and is a welcome change of pace to boring old Earth.

thor_movie_image_hall_asgard_hi-res_01

The Thor story is very Shakespearean, which makes Kenneth Branagh the perfect director for the film. He captured every element of this film so wonderfully. The family drama was handled very well and didn’t feel redundant, the fish out of water comedy in this film is really funny, I still quote “I need a horse” all time. Branagh is a very underrated director and Thor was another example of his range as a storyteller.

There are a couple of things I don’t like about Thor, the first one being Kat Dennings. I don’t find her funny in theses films at all. Luckily she only has a small role in the first Thor film so it’s not a major complaint but every time she is on screen she ruins the fantastic humor this film has. My other negative is that as much as I like the worlds visited in Thor, I feel like this film and it’s sequel, missed a huge opportunity to take this MCU film in a direction we had never seen before. They set up the 9 realms but we only get to see 2 worlds. By far the most interesting scenes in Thor are all the scenes that take place on Asgard. One of the main reasons I loved Guardians of the Galaxy was because of the exploration of space and visiting weird, interesting world. I’m really hoping Thor 3, with the success of Guardians, will take a risk and not go to earth at all.

Thor is another really solid Marvel film. It set up characters that we’ve all come to love and 4 films in managed to make itself different from the MCU films before it.

8.5/10

What do you think about Thor?

 

 

