Captain America: The First Avenger… The last Avenger film before The Avengers.

Captain America stars Chris Evans (The Avengers, Snowpiercer), Hayley Atwell (Agent Carter), Tommy Lee Jones (No Country for Old Men, Men in Black) and Hugo Weaving (The Matrix, V for Vendetta) and is directed by Joe Johnston (Jumanji, Jurassic Park III).

After being rejected several times from the military, Steve Rogers joins the Super Soldier Serum program and becomes Captain America. He must then stop the evil Hydra leader Red Skull.

Captain America: The First Avenger was the last film in the MCU before The Avengers, so it had a lot riding on it and I think it succeeded. It’s not one of my favorite Marvel films but it’s not a bad one either. It’s just above average but still a very enjoyable film to watch. I have been watching all these films again before review each one and I’m never bored in any of them. Cap 1 I found very easy to watch but it’s not completely flawless.

Like every Marvel film the cast is outstanding but also a bit risky. Chris Evans was pretty well known at the time for playing the Human Torch, in the horrible Tim Story, Fantastic Four films so he didn’t have much street cred with the comic book fan community. But Marvel saw something in him and it turned out to be yet another lesson in never doubt Marvel because of course, Chris Evans was fantastic. He played the skinny Brooklyn kid with a “Goonies never say die” attitude, with so much heart and emotion, you cant help but route for him. Then when he does gets the Super Soldier Serum, he still keeps the same attitude but now he’s a badass, it’s impossible not to like this character.

91RA4mppv7L._SL1500_

Every Marvel film has a veteran, A list actor that brings immense amount of credibility to the film, Tommy Lee Jones was a great pick to play the General because he can be the hard nosed, intimidating authority figure but he also has a softer side that makes short appearances when the time calls for them. Stanley Tucci steals this whole film for me, hes one of my favorite character actors working today and steal almost every film hes in. Tucci and Evans had really great chemistry, making their scenes together probably my favorite in the whole film. Tucci’s character is one (I have no idea how) I’d like to see Marvel bring back.

Captain-America-The-First-Avenger-Stanley-Tucci-as-Dr-Abraham-Erskine

The action in both Captain America films are amazing. Cap’s shield is by far the coolest weapon in the MCU, I love the sound it makes when it hits someone in the face and magically pings back to Cap. There are a lot of really cool moments of Cap running around just being awesome that are a whole lot of fun to watch and I also enjoyed the final fight scene with Captain America and Red Skull.

The first half of The First Avenger does start off a bit slow. We have a lot of scenes with the Red Skull saying evil things and being menacing but not really doing anything. I like that they made Cap a propaganda tool for the America Army, like the comics where back when they first started  but after a while I wanted to see Steve Rogers actually be Captain America, which took a bit to long to get to. I get that hes Captain America but I feel they needed to pull back on some of the cheesy, “murica” moments that become very cringeworthy.

The Red Skull is another Marvel villain that unfortunately isn’t that great. Hugo Weaving is amazing but again, they cast great actors to play these part but don’t give them much to do. The Red Skull just sit in some room for a really long time, talking about how great he is but I never felt like Cap was in trouble until the very end. I think Marvel missed a big opportunity to have a really great character, with a really great actor.

Overall I liked Captain America: The First Avenger but I didn’t love it. Its a film in the MCU that I often forget about and don’t talk about either. What I can never take away from it tho, is without the first one we would have never got the outstanding sequel (that I can’t wait to review).

7/10

What do you think of Captain America: The First Avenger?

 

 

 

