Finally the wait is over, last night I got to see Batman V Superman!

BvS stars Ben Affleck (Gone Girl, Argo), Henry Cavil (Man of Steel, The Man from U.N.C.L.E.), Amy Adams (Man of Steel, American Hustle), Jesse Eisenberg (The Social Network, Now You See Me). It’s directed by returning director Zack Snyder (Man of Steel, 300).

After the events of Man of Steel, the people and Batman are unsure of Superman’s power and if he is the hero they want. Meanwhile Lex Luther is conjuring up a plan to defeat both Superman and Batman.

So it’s been three years of build up and anticipation, meaning Batman V Superman was always going to have a hard time pleasing everyone. The critics have not been nice to this film, it currently stands at 30% on Rotten Tomatoes and falling. I however really enjoyed BvS. It’s far from a perfect film but that doesn’t make it bad. There are things I didn’t like but there was a lot I loved. So lets get into the good and the bad (spoiler free).

When Ben Affleck was cast as Batman the internet exploded in rage and I have to admit I was confused as well. But over time, through interviews, pictures and trailer, Ben Affleck won over the fans and now the film is out, everyone is raving about how amazing he was as Batman and they’re right. This is without a doubt the best Batman we’ve ever seen on film. He’s brutal, he doesn’t hold back and at times is legitimately scary. The rumors are true Batman kills in this film and as someone who is a Batman fanatic, I didn’t care. The fact is a ‘no killing rule’ is hard to stick by when the world is ending and you only have a short time to stop it. My favorite scene in the whole film was from the trailer when Bruce Wayne is running around Metropolis, during the end of Man of Steel, I had chills the whole time seeing Bruce heading straight into danger, not thinking twice about it, it was pure Batman.

Batman-v-Superman--Batman-Gun

Superman doesn’t get a whole lot to do in this film but what he does I thought was excellent. Henry Cavil’s performance was great and I think he conveyed a lot through is facial expression. There’s one scene, without spoiling it, when Superman goes to the court room, Cavil’s emotion was extremely powerful and one of the most effective scenes in the film. I’ve always thought since Man of Steel, Henry Cavil doesn’t get enough credit for his understated portrayal of Superman. There’s been a lot of complaints that Superman is overshadowed by Batman and he is. Sorry Superman fans but that’s just because Batman is a much more relatable and interesting character, by design Batman is going to become more interesting then most characters when thrown in the mix (I know that’s a very opinionated statement but it’s how I feel).

I was hearing after early reviews that Wonder Woman was one of the best, if not the best part of Batman V Superman and I was very surprised to hear that. I was, more than any other casting, against Gal Gadot being Wonder Woman. After seeing the film, I apologise Mrs. Gadot you’re pretty awesome. When she shows up in BvS as Wonder Woman it’s really cool. She looks the part, she’s badass and although she didn’t have many lines, her acting was really good. There is a part in her fight when she is smiling and just having fun, when fighting an extremely dangerous, life threatening creature. She’s a warrior and loves being one. Wonder Woman was great in this film, it wasn’t a big enough role for me to say she stole the film but I’m now a lot more excited for her standalone film next year.

_1449632347

Watching all the trailer I hated Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor and god dammit, I have to give out another apology. I enjoyed Lex Luthor in this film. I thought he was going to be really over the top and annoying but I didn’t find him to be. For me he rode the line perfectly, by being just right and not overacting too much. Villains like Jamie Fox in The Amazing Spider-Man 2 or Richard Pryor in Superman III gave over the top performances but Eisenberg never went that far for me. He was by no means a great villain and I would have liked his motivation to have been better explained but I didn’t think he was a bad character (I can see why people are upset with him tho).

The action and fights are incredible. When Superman fights Batman it’s unbelievable. They actually have a hand to hand fight, that’s really epic and had me glued to the screen, trying not to blink. The solo Batman action scene, that we saw some of in the last trailer is so badass and again I got chills throughout the whole scene seeing Batman in action, not holding back, being the terrifying machine I’ve always known him to be.

The story is where most people, I think feel the film falls apart and I don’t really agree. Like I mention earlier, the reason Lex Luthor wants to kill Batman and Superman is never really explained but I didn’t have a problem with Luthor’s convoluted plan because that’s what Luthor has always been about. I understood exactly why Superman and Batman were fighting, I thought it was done well and similar to The Dark Knight Returns graphic novel. The way Snyder setup the other Justice League characters was perfect, he didn’t do too much with each character or try to tell a story with them. The film just says there are more superheros out there and they’re coming. I thought the film balanced out well all the aspects of the story they were telling, my problem was that I didn’t think they were all needed and so that brings me to what I didn’t like.

The film is too long. I don’t think Snyder putting too many storylines into the film made the main ones less developed, I think it made the film too bloated. I wouldn’t have taken things out and added to the Batman vs Superman story, I just would have taken out the pointless crap to make the film shorter. I think people were upset because it took ages to actually get to Batman and Superman fighting, not that their fight wasn’t good. There is a side story with Louis Lane that is completely pointless and only exists to give her something too do. You take just that out of the film and already it’s probably 20 minutes shorter.

Speaking of Louis Lane I didn’t like her in this film. It’s not Amy Adams, I think shes a great actress and I really liked her in Man of Steel, it’s the fact her and Superman kept killing the momentum of the film every time it got going. Every time Superman went of to do something, he had to go see Louis so they could kiss or have some soppy conversation. I’m not against romance in superhero films but in this particular one, there wasn’t any room for it.

_1449632341

Doomsday sucked in the trailer and he sucked in the film, no apologies going out to Doomsday. He looks horrible and is completely a throwaway villain. The way he is created was really weird and pretty stupid .

So that’s everything I thought about Batman V Superman. Overall I had a really fun time watching this film. It has issues but for me nothing that really ruined the film. I’m a fan of this DC Universe and can’t wait to see where they go from here (especially those standalone Batman and Wonder Woman films).

8/10

Have you seen BvS and what did you think about it? Would love to have a conversation with other fans, whether you loved it or hated it. In a few day, after I’ve had time to let everything sink in and I’ve had time to digest everything I saw, I’m going to do another spoiler filled review talking about every little detail, so look out for that if your interested!

 

