In order to get all these reviews done before Civil War (which was my original goal), I’m going to have review 2 Marvel films a week. Earlier today I reviewed Iron Man 3 (Iron Man 3 Review), the next one on the list is Thor: The Dark World.

Thor: The Dark World stars Chris Hemsworth (Thor, Rush), Tom Hiddleston (Thor, Crimson Peak) , Natalie Portman (Black Swan, V for Vendetta), Christopher Eccleston (The Others, Elizabeth) and is directed by Alan Taylor (Terminator Genisys, Palookaville).

Jane is infected by an ancient power called The Aether. An evil Dark Elf Malekith, wants this power so Thor must work together with his brother Loki, to protect the Nine Realms.

The original Thor is one of my favorite MCU films, so when Thor: The Dark World came out I was really excited to see where they would go with this series. In the first one you set up this incredible world, with nine realms to explore but instead we have to keep going back to Earth, where every film takes place! I do like this film but it was a little underwhelming compared to the first one.

What I like most about this film is also something I don’t like. Thor: The Dark World is Loki’s film. The story follows Thor but really you just want to see Loki. It’s similar to The Dark Knight, you like Batman, Alfred and Harvey Dent but you want to get to The Joker scenes. In Thor 2, I like Thor, Jane and Odin but I want to know what Loki’s up to. Tom Hiddleston steals every scene he’s in and steals the film from the title character, Thor. I honestly don’t have much to say about Thor because he doesn’t do much, this film is all about Loki. The humor that works comes from him, the interesting character development evolves around him and the only memorable scenes are ones with Loki in. Loki is probably at his best in this film, every time he’s on screen the charisma oozes off him and you can’t look away. He’s so much fun to watch, to the point I wouldn’t be against a standalone Loki film. I don’t know what that film would involve but if it freed up time for Thor in his own films, I could get behind it.

tm-06742_r1000

We did spend more time on Asgard (not enough for my personal taste) and I enjoyed seeing more of Lady Sif and The Warriors Three. I really like all of these characters and want to see more of them. Each of them have a distinct look and personality, that make them very enjoyable to watch on screen. If the third Thor film is going to be a road trip film with Hulk, I hope Sif and The Warriors Three get to come along too.

I love Idris Elba’s character, Heimdall. This guys look and Elba in the costume, is so cool and badass, I could have a whole film of him just standing guard. I liked seeing him interact with Thor and get more screen time in general.

The final battle is really awesome. I love the Portal element the fight has, it was a lot of fun to watch and created some very creative ways of fighting. I also liked when the Dark Elves attacked Asgard. Seeing everyone battle an army of Dark Elves inside Asgard was really fun and Heimdall jumping onto the Elf ship was badass. The action in the MCU films are always on a high level and this one met that high bar.

Unfortunately there’s quite a lot of things I don’t like about this film, starting with that stupid villain. Marvel struggles with it’s villains and Malekith is the worst one ever. When you get beat up by Thor’s mum (however cool she might be) you loose your credibility. Malekith is so boring, he’s bad just to be bad and for most of the film his big bodyguard does all the work. I actually like his sidekick more than I liked Malekith. He doesn’t look very cool and is the definition of throwaway character.

Malekith_TTDW

Until Guardians of the Galaxy every MCU film is set on Earth, the Thor series had a huge opportunity to separate themselves from all other Marvel films and be different. I can give the first film a pass because not everyone is going to jump straight into a weird Sci-Fi adventure, they setup the human characters  so the audience could have someone to follow. Now you have a human character in Jane (who I actually like), Thor takes her up to Asgard and I thought we were getting away from Earth. But then in the final battle they had to go back down and spend time with all the annoying Earth characters. Speaking of the annoying Earth characters.

Can we ban Kat Dennings from being in anything ever. She’s not funny and kills any momentum this film ever gets. Her and the stupid moron running around with her, are the most irritating characters ever, especially when you have an amazing fight taking place but we have to stop so that Kat Dennings and that dude can kiss…. REALLY!? I like Chris O’Dowd but what was he doing in this film. He kinda has a relationship with Jane but it doesn’t go anywhere and he’s just there for really bad comedic relief. Please don’t bring these people back in the next one Marvel.

I really wanted this film to be amazing because I can see the potential it has to be so unique but it plays it safe by going back to Earth. I like Thor: The Dark World but it was hard getting through the scenes without Loki. There’s some good action and the comedy with Thor and Loki is really funny but please Marvel, I’m begging you stay away from Earth in Thor 3.

7/10

 

