The trailers don’t stop coming! When I said last week I wanted to do more trailer reviews, someone must have been listening because we just keep getting more and more.

I don’t know where to start with this trailer. It definitely feels like a response to the complaints of Batman v Superman being dull and humorless but at the same time the tone isn’t any different from the first Suicide Squad trailer. The rumor going around is that DC had reshoots to put more jokes in the film but Jai Courtney said they were adding more action. Personally I believe Jai because there were jokes in the first trailer and I always assumed Suicide Squad was going to have a fun tone to it anyway.

Like the previous trailers, The Joker and Harley Quinn stood out the most as the ones to watch in this film. The Jokers laugh is so cool and terrifying at the same time. When he first starts laughing I had a smile on my face and then it dies out and becomes really creepy. I don’t know if he can top Heath Ledger but Jared Leto is going to be something very special. He throws a smoke grenade at one point, so I’m really hoping we get some laughing gas. I’m so excited to see The Joker in this film and what Jared Leto can bring to a character we’ve seen several times already.

Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn was genius casting. She looks incredible as Harley and my big take away from this trailer is… SHE’S GOT HER MALLET!! I really hope she’s going to be cracking some heads with that thing. I didn’t know if they were going to  give her a mallet, mainly because I thought it wouldn’t translate well to a live-action film but they manage to find a way to make it work. It’s not to big, that it becomes silly but still big enough to be intimidating. I loved her joke about vexing and she had very similar tattoos to The Joker.

harley-quinn.png

El Diablo is a character who I know nothing about. So it was cool he got some much needed attention in this trailer. They showed his fire powers and they looked really cool. I don’t know how much time he’s going to get in the film but I’m intrigued to find out more about him. We see a little bit more of Captain Boomerang, including a quick shot of him actually throwing a boomerang. I’m still trying to process the fact Jai Courtney doesn’t look like he’s going to suck. The rest of the squad get some time but nothing that jumped out at me.

These Suicide Squad trailers have been very excellently edited together and I think they put some crafty editing in this one. You hear The Jokers laugh over a scene when Harley says “Uh-oh”, then Deathstroke says “Not good”. They make you think The Joker is about to face of with the Squad but I think the laugh is a competently different scene. They do it again when Deathstroke is trying to get to pump up El Diablo, then there’s a quick shot of Diablo in a different setting using his fire and it cuts back to the original scene.

After Ben Affleck’s Batman stole the show in Batman v Superman, they showed us really quick shots of him that you have to pause to get a real good look at. It seems that Harley crashes into the sea and Batman goes in to rescue her. There’s a shot of Batman carrying her to the Batmoblie, in what might be the most interesting shot from the trailer. Batman has felt a lot of sympathy for Harley in the past, in the comics and animated series and I think that would be a fantastic storyline to develop in the films. If the Joker and Harley Quinn are as popular as DC are expecting them to be, I think the standalone Batman film will have them as the villains.

new-wild-and-crazy-suicide-squad-trailer-features-more-batman-joker-and-jokes-927651

Like I mentioned earlier the fun, energetic tone I think has been present way before the reshoot and this trailer did nothing but add to that. The music choices, like in the previous trailers, were spot on. The way they synchronize the music with what you see on screen, is so spectacular and if the film is put together half as well as these trailers, we’re going to experience something incredible.

What did you think of the trailer and are you worried about the recent reshoots?

 

 

