Are they sure Christopher Nolan didn’t direct this film?

I don’t know the first thing about Doctor Strange and I don’t have a clue what was happening in this trailer but I really enjoyed it. Doctor Strange has a great cast, I like Scott Derrickson directing and Marvel’s track record is so good, you can’t doubt them. I don’t know if this trailer will get the general public interested in Doctor Strange but for people like me, who love comic book films and big blockbusters, I’m more excited now.

Sherlock Holmes, Smaug, Khan and now Doctor Strange, Benedict Cumberbatch has more geek cred then any other actor. The multiple looks he took on in this trailer, all looked really cool. I guess the origin of Doctor Strange is he’s a doctor, then after a car crash a bald Tilda Swinton teaches him how to do magic? I don’t know but that’s what I love about this film. I know all about The Avengers, I know Batman, Superman and all the other big superheros, so now I can go into this film and be completely surprised by what I see. Cumberbatch is a great actor and he fits this weird, magical character perfectly.

screen-shot-2016-04-13-at-12-03-37-am

We saw very little of the rest of the cast but it is only a teaser trailer. Like I said Tilda Swinton is bald which threw me off a little bit but Swinton is a very strong actress and will bring her own weird, zaniness to the film. I don’t know who the villain is or if it’s both of them but we saw quick glimpses of Chiwetel Ejiofor and Mads Mikkelsen. Mikkelsen is one of my favorite actors working and with Rogue One and now this coming out this year, I’m really hoping he’s going to get really big and everyone will know his name. I don’t know what he was doing in this trailer but it looked crazy and is all very intriguing.

doctorstrange1

I love Inception but the bwong noise that’s in every trailer is really annoying. This trailer didn’t use that noise but it did ripoff the rest of the score. Overall this trailer had an Inception feel to it (the scene when the city is upside down in particular) and I don’t think that’s a bad thing. Marvel jump around in genres all the time, in their standalone films and Doctor Strange looks like their Sci-Fi thriller. The visuals were breathtaking and I think this is going to be the most visually interesting Marvel film to date.

I found this trailer very intriguing and I can’t wait to learn more about this film. Doctor Strange looks like it’s going in a direction we’ve never seen an MCU film go before, which I’m absolutely excited about.

What did you think of this trailer and are you excited to see Doctor Strange?

