It’s not Tuesday but I just watched the trailer for Nicholas Winding Refn’s new film The Neon Demon, it looks great and I wanted to make a top ten anticipated list for the Non-Blockbuster films that are still left to come out this year. I made an anticipated list at the start of the year (You can find that here) and they were all comic book films or tent-pole films. I love the big summer films but I also love the smaller films that don’t have all the hype around them. So here’s my list of the smaller films coming out this year you should be anticipating.

10

Free State of Jones The-Free-State-of-Jones-First-Look

Pretty much anything with McConaughey these days, I’m always interested in. This film is set during the American Civil War and is about a southern farmer rebelling against the Confederacy. It’s low on the list because Gary Ross is directing and I’m not a huge fan of his but I’m intrigued enough by the cast and story to still be interested in the film.

9

Passengers chrisprattjenniferlawrence-xlarge

Chris Pratt and Jennifer Lawrence are probably the biggest actor and actress on the planet right now. They’re both staring in this Sci-Fi film that comes out late in the year and hopefully it will be this years, The Martian.

8

The FounderFounder2

I love biopics and the story of the McDonald’s founder, is probably an interesting one. Michael Keaton is playing the lead and I love that he is getting so much work since Birdman. Two years in a row now he’s been in the film that’s won best picture at the Oscars, maybe this will make it 3.

7

Sing Street e95a78d0a8bdfc12dd50023c9d8822ea4a084546

Sing Street is the new film by director John Carney, who did the films Once and Begin Again. He makes music oriented films and I’m a huge fan of his work so far. Sing Street was shown at Sundance and got rave reviews, so hopeful it’s going to be a great film. In the US it comes out tomorrow but unfortunately here in England we have to wait till May.

6

The Nice Guys the-nice-guys-russell-crowe-ryan-gosling-image

Shane Black, Russell Crowe and Ryan Gosling… I’m in! Shane Black is an incredible writer director and I’ve been following this film since it was first announced. The trailers have been fantastic, everyone involved is excellent and if you want to know what kind of film this is, watch Shane Black’s incredible debut film Kiss Kiss Bang Bang.

5

Story of Your Life amy-adams-on-the-set-of-story-of-your-life-in-montreal-06-09-2015_8

For me personally, Sicario was a little disappointing but I have in no way lost any excitement for Denis Villeneuve and the films he’s working on. Story of Your Life is a Sci-Fi film about an alien craft that lands on Earth and the military are trying to discover if they come in peace or not. It’s not the most original story ever but with Villeneuve directing a premise like this, you know you’re going to get a weird and very creative piece of art.

4

The Neon Demonthe-neon-demon-elle-fanning-picture

 The trailer for this film just came out and it was the first time I had heard about it. Like I said earlier it’s the new Nicolas Winding Refn film and I’m a huge Refn fanboy. I’ve at least liked everything he’s previously done and most of his work I love. Drive is one of my favorite films of all time and Valhalla Rising I think is one of the most underrated films of the past 10 years. So whenever he’s got a new film coming out, it doesn’t matter what it is, I’m extremely excited.

3

The Book of Henry book-of-henry-154038

In 2012 Colin Trevorrow’s debut film Safety Not Guaranteed came out and I loved it, he then went on to make Jurassic World, which I didn’t like. In 2019 he’s going to be doing episode 9 in the Star Wars franchise but before that Trevorrow is going back to a much smaller film, The Book of Henry. After Jurassic World, I’m really happy Trevorrow is making a more contained, little story with a really great cast. I have high expectations for this film and I’m predicting it will be in my top ten films of 2016.

2

La La Land la-la-land

2014s Whiplash was a masterpiece, it was my favorite film of that year and is probably in my top 20 films of all time. La La Land is Damien Chazelle’s next film after Whiplash and is again revolving around music. J.K. Simmons is also teaming with Chazelle again, maybe looking for another Oscar. Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone are the two leads in what I’m hoping will be another instant classic.

1

Silence silence-official-NO-WATERMARK-700x405

Silence is the new film by Martin Scorsese… do I need to say anything else. Seriously tho, this film could be about toilet paper starring Tommy Wiseau and it would still be number 1 on the list, as long as it’s directed by Scorsese. It actually stars Liam Neeson and two Scorsese newcomers, Andrew Garfield and Adam Driver. I’m sure it will receive a few nominations come award season and will be one of the best films of 2016.

 

Honorable Mentions  

The Girl on the Train

Inferno

The Birth of a Nation

Manchester by the Sea

Money Monster

