Captain America: The Winter Soldier stars Chris Evans (Avengers, Snowpiercer), Scarlett Johansson (Lost in Translation, Lucy), Sebastian Stan (The Martian, Black Swan), Robert Redford (The Sting, All the Presidents Men), and is directed by the Russo Brothers.

After the events of New York, Steve Rogers teams up with his Avengers teammate Black Widow to stop an evil threat from his history and defeat an assassin known as, The Winter Soldier.

The first Captain America is one of my least favorite MCU films, so I wasn’t that excited for the sequel. The comedy directors, the Russo Brothers were announced to be making the film and I was even less interested in this film. Then I saw it… and I quickly realised I was wrong. 2014 was a great year for comic book films but The Winter Soldier stood high above the rest of them and I think stands high above the rest of the MCU films.

The Russo Brothers like I said, had previously directed You, Me and Dupree and comedy shows like Arrested Development and Community, so when they were announced it felt like such an odd choice for a Marvel film. Even now it still feels odd and it’s even more strange, they directed the most serious MCU film to date. The Russo’s really put their stamp on Captain America and made him more interesting than he’s ever been before. They handled everything perfectly from the acting, the action, the drama and even the villains. They made this film what it is and Marvel agreed because they’ve become the new Joss Whedon for the MCU.

Chris Evans again brings his A game and is awesome in this film. He looks the part and you know he can handle the action but what impressed me the most was his humor. Cap is really funny in this film but it doesn’t feel forced, like it does in future Marvel films. Chris Evans had great chemistry with Black Widow and Falcon, which made for some funny scenes and really cool action.

captain-america-the-winter-soldier-chris-evans2

 

Speaking of Falcon, he is awesome. I’ve been a huge fan of Anthony Mackie for a long time now and I love that he’s getting mainstream exposure in these films. The dude has Downey Jr. charisma and is very likable. His action scenes were really great and his friendship with Cap, is my favorite bromance in the MCU. He was a great new character and I’m happy he’s popping up in more films and not just Cap’s.

Black Widow has been a useful character for Marvel and shes used very well, again in this one. She has a cute, funny little relationship with Cap in this film (although it’s been forgotten about since), it was fun to watch, Evans and Johansson have good chemistry and when they work together they have some badass fights. Johansson is amazing in this role and her portrayal of Black Widow is definitely underrated, she’s been in 4 Marvel films and has only ever added to them. She works well with everyone in The Winter Soldier and is welcome back in a Cap film anytime.

Samuel L. Jackson in his Nick Fury outfit is one of the coolest characters in comic book films but he’s never got a chance to really get into some action and earn his look. Well Nick Fury gets wrapped up in one of the best action scenes in the whole film and proves he can kick ass too. I loved seeing all these non-superhero spy’s get a solid amount of screen time and prove their worth.

The action in the first Cap is good but not as memorable as the action in Iron Man or the Thor films. The Russo Brothers put together some of the most amazing set pieces in any action film ever. I mentioned the Nick Fury car chase scene earlier and there are many more intense, nail biting action scenes. The boat scene at the start is outstanding and as a huge UFC fan, the fight with Cap and George St-Pierre is awesome. Cap’s shield has never been more cool and every time he uses it I cheer with joy. I can’t wait to see what crazy action the Russo’s come up with in Civil War.

The villains have always been my biggest issue with almost every Marvel film but The Winter Soldier broke that mold, with two memorable bad guys. Robert Redford is one of the greatest actors ever. When you add him to a film, it immediately gives the film some credibility and he was amazing in this role. He’s not psychically imposing in anyway but he had a master plan and executed it. He played the two sides to his character perfectly. When he had to put on a front and pretend to be a trustworthy leader, you believed him but then when he reveals his true nature, he’s very intimidating and rather scary. I don’t think we’re going to see him again but what we got was a very enjoyable bad guy.

Robert-Redford-in-Captain-America-The-Winter-Soldier-2014-Movie-Image

I’m sure most of you know who the Winter Soldier is by now but just in case you don’t, I’m going to be talking about who he is, so Spoilers!

I never really cared about the Bucky character and when he dies in the first Cap I still didn’t care. He only existed to make Steve Rogers a more relatable character but now it seems, he’s definitely making an impact on the MCU in Civil War. So when I found out he was going to be The Winter Soldier, I wasn’t really that excited but didn’t mind either but when he shows up in this film he’s really cool. Not only can he stand toe to toe with Cap in a fight but he mentally takes such a toll on Cap and completely throws him off his game. Their backstory from the first Cap film, adds so much to this one and makes their battles immensely compelling. I got way more emotional invested then what I thought I would going into this film and genuinely cared about the Cap and Bucky relationship… well done Russo’s.

Captain America: The Winter Soldier is an outstanding film and is easily one of the top 3 comic book films ever made. The action is amazing, the villains are threatening and I got wrapped up in the characters relationships, more than I ever get wrapped up in my own.

10/10

What’s your thought on The Winter Soldier?

