Still trying to finish these reviews before Civil War. Second one this week is Guardians of the Galaxy!

Guardians of the Galaxy stars, Chris Pratt (Jurassic World, Parks and Recreation), Zoe Saldana (Avatar, Star Trek), Dave Bautista (Spectre, Riddick), Vin Diesel (Fast and Furious, xXx), Bradley Cooper (Silver Linings Playbook, The Hangover) and is directed by James Gunn (Slither, Super).

When Ronan the Accuser threatens the galaxy, a human, an assassin, a destroyer and a raccoon and his tree, must band together to stop the evil villain.

Since I first saw Thor, I was begging for a full space opera and then James Gunn gave me what I wanted with Guardians of the Galaxy. Throughout this entireĀ film I was smiling and having a good time. I went back and saw it 3 times in the cinema and loved it more each time.

I have to start with James Gunn. To most of the general public, James Gunn was an unknown director and if you did know him, you knew his work wasn’t always… normal. He’s not the most conventional director, so Marvel choosing him for Guardians was a risk but it payed off, massively. His sense of humor and wackiness, was a perfect fit for these characters and he explored all of them in detail, in just one film. Gunn took chances other directors wouldn’t have took and made one of the most enjoyable films ever made.

guardians-of-the-galaxy-james-gunn-sean-gunn.jpg

Another risk Marvel took was casting Chris Pratt. Before this, he was the chubby, funny guy in comedies. He got in great shape and has transformed himself into a huge movie star. We knew he could handle comedy but what no one could predict, is how much we buy into this guy as an action hero (he proved that again in Jurassic World, by being the only good part of that film). There are a lot of characters and moving parts but ultimately, Pratt carries this film and through his charisma and energy, we experience this space adventure.

Going into this film back in 2014, I would have said my biggest worry was Dave Bautista. He’s not a very good actor and I’ve always found him a bit dull, he surprised me more than anyone else in this film. His portrayal of Drax was hilarious! He had great comedic timing and gave me some of the biggest laughs in the film. Because of his look, he’s been getting action roles but I really think he should be taking more comedic parts. I still don’t think he’s an amazing actor but given the right roles and used correctly, Dave Bautista can add a lot to a film.

Rocket Raccoon and Groot, were the new Han and Chewie… until Han and Chewie returned last year. I loved these two. Rocket Raccoon on paper is a terrible idea and I thought he was going to be, until I saw him. He’s not only really funny and sarcastic but has moments of real emotion and became a character I really cared about. Rocket was my favorite character from this film but he wouldn’t be Rocket, without his lovable, killing machine Groot.

guardians-of-the-galaxy-rocket-raccoon1.jpg

Upon first viewing I didn’t really enjoy the villain, Ronan. After several more times, I’ve come to like him more and more, each time. He’s still not a great villain but not a weakness in the film. I love his makeup and costume, his look is very different from other villains and he fit in the crazy outta space world perfectly. He has some badass scenes and was a formidable foe for the Guardians.

The final character I need to talk about is the soundtrack. This is by far the best soundtrack in a film ever. For about 5 months after first seeing Guardians, I was listening to the soundtrack everyday and I still put it on if I want to get in a good mood. The soundtrack became apart of the film and every time I hear any of the songs, I’m instantly transported back into the film. Each song added so much to every scene and added to the overall tone of the film. I can’t wait for Vol. 2.

Every Marvel film has a fair amount of humor to them, even the more serious ones but none of them have been as laugh out loud funny, as Guardians of the Galaxy. The first 5 minutes are pretty dark but then it’s non-stop laughs till the end. I don’t think a single joke misses and theres a lot of them, everyone has their moment to drop a really funny line and no one is left with a boring personality. The fun and ridiculous tone makes this film endlessly rewatchable and the most fun Marvel film to date.

Guardians of the Galaxy is one of my favorite Marvel films, it’s a film that I can watch at any time and will instantly be put in a good mood. Everyone in the cast is excellent and the humor hits with every joke. If you don’t like this film, then you don’t like fun!

10/10

What’s your thoughts on Guardians of the Galaxy?

