SPOILERS BELOW!!

I’m going to be discussing in detail everything that happened in this episode, so if you haven’t seen the Game of Thrones season 6 premiere and you don’t want it spoiled, leave NOW!… and come back later.

First of all I’m not going to lie and pretend like I’m a Game of Thrones expert because I’m not. I haven’t read the books, I don’t know every little detail about the history of Westeros but I am a huge fan of the show and I like to think I still have a very valid opinion on what happens every week. I also managed to avoid the season 6 trailers like the plague and had no idea what was going to happen in this episode or the remainder of the season.

I have to start with the opening and end scene. We ‘kinda’ now know the fate of Jon Snow. They’re still trying to sell us, that Jon is actually dead but I don’t buy it at all, I have my theory on what is going to happen but I’ll get to that at the end of the review. After season 5 I was curious where they were going to go with Davos. With Stannis dead I thought he would be lost but he’s joining team Jon Snow and I can’t wait to see more of him, now he’s not stuck with Stannis. The final scene was an awesome way to hook everyone back in for next week. I didn’t see that coming and it brought back horrible memories of the the woman in Room 327, in The Shining. I hope Melisandre isn’t giving up but it did seem like she had ran out of ideas at the end of this episode.

Screen Shot 2016-04-24 at 12.30.57 PM

There were a lot of pairings and teams forming in this episode and that’s something Game of Thrones has done fantastically in the past. I was really pleased to see Brienne meet up with Sansa and finally have a Stark to serve. I started off hating Sansa and over time, I’ve started to like her more as she’s got stronger as a character. She still has a long way to go but each season she’s becoming more of a Stark I can get behind. Jorah and Daario is going to be fun to watch over the course of this season and will be another hilarious pairing.

We didn’t get too much from Tyrion in first episode back but what we got, I really enjoyed. I could listen to the conversations of Tyrion and Varys forever and their banter and chemistry has gone anywhere in the new season. It was very interesting to hear them discussing politics and how to rebuild the city, which I think we will hear a lot more of in the future. Our other favorite Lannister’s were surprisingly getting along very well. Jamie and Cersei seem to finally be a team again and I don’t think we’ve truly seen that since season 1. I hope there’s not going to be another out of place rape scene or Cersei turning her back on him because I like these two and right now they need to stick together.

We visited Dorne this week and it was the first time I really cared about what was happening there. In the past I’ve found it boring and kinda pointless but now with the Sand Snakes taking over and becoming (hopefully) a real threat, they could turn out to be a formidable foe. I don’t know if I was supposed to be but I was completely with Ellaria Sand when she killed Doran. He was weak, he lost the respect of his people and needed to go. I’m finally excited to see what the Sand Snakes are going to do next.

I really like Daenerys (getting really fed up of adding all these Game of Thrones names to my dictionary) but her character has moved along so slowly. I could be wrong but right now its looks like this Dothraki storyline is just going to kill more time, while everything gets in line in Westeros, for her arrival. I would guess she’s going to eventually get the Dothraki army on her side but I would rather they get it over and done with, instead of doing the same thing as when she got the Unsullied army, she’s becoming a bit redundant.

gallery-1461243979-game-thrones-season-6-episode-1-red-woman-khal-moro-1

I thought this was a great premiere and an awesome episode to start of the season. I’m going to finish each Game of Thrones review with some theories, that will probably all turn out to be wrong.

Obviously everyone has been talking about Jon Snow, so that’s where I’m going to start. We saw at the end of tonight’s episode, Melisandre’s necklace was giving her youth or at least the illusion of youth. I’m wondering if maybe that could be in someway manipulate to bring Jon Snow back to life. What I really want to see happen is evil White Walker Jon Snow. When Jon had a stare down with the White Walker at the end of the Hardhome episode, I immediately thought they would meet again and fight. But what if that White Walker wanted to recruit Jon because he saw his potential. I don’t know if it’s going to happen soon or at the end of this season but I think the White Walkers will get through The Wall, resurrect Jon and he will join the Walkers, with his uncle Benjen.

What did you think of the first episode back and do you really believe Jon Snow is dead?

