Much more than Warcraft, I’ve been really looking forward to this film. I played the first 2 Assassin’s Creed games but then got bored of the series, I’m excited for the film because of the cast and the possibilities. So the first trailer was released today and it was pretty awesome.

When you have Michael Fassbender and Marion Cotillard in a trailer, I’m instantly interested. Fassbender is one of the best actors working and Cotillard is one of the best actresses. They were both great in last years Macbeth together and I’m happy to see them collaborate again.

The present day scenes were cool but this trailer really popped when we went to Spain. It looked gorgeous and is a cool setting for assassin’s killing each other. The Parkour elements in the game, was some of the funniest parts to play and now it looks like it’s going to be really fun to watch. The few shots of what I believe was Fassbender’s character and Aruane Labed’s, climbing up buildings and leaping across rooftops, looks really well done and hopeful will be riveting when we see the full film.

Speaking of Aruane Labed, she has some amazing action shots as the female assassin and the action in general looks really great. She was using the hidden blades and again that was always really fun to use in the game. We see the blades several times in the trailer, including Fassbender wearing them and I can’t wait to see them being used for stealth assassinations. We see a big battle and the cinematography looks amazing and I’m really intrigued to see how far they go with the battles.

If you haven’t played the games, the main character uses a machine called the Animus that allow the user to view their ancestors past. In the game (from what I can remember) the machine was like a bed or a dentist chair but from what I got from the trailer, the Animus is going to be very different in the film. The big mechanical arm that repels Fassbender up in the air, seems to be the Animus. I thought that was a really cool idea and mixing it up a bit, keeps it interesting for players of the game.

The final shot of this trailer was Fassbender jumping of a really tall building and in almost any other trailer, this would have annoyed me. Trailer recently have had someone jumping from high places (including Warcraft) and it’s become cliche. But in the Assassin’s Creed game, those jumps were apart of the game and they actually were a fun side task. So I found it pretty awesome to see that in this trailer and I’m really interested to see where Fassbender is going to land. In the game you would land in hay and could hide from enemies, I don’t think that would work in a film.

There was one big problem, that ruined this trailer. That was the random Kanye West song, that didn’t fit the Spanish Inquisition at all! We get taken to Spain in the 1400s and rap music starts playing? I have no idea why they made this choice because as soon as it starts playing, it takes you out of that setting and you remember you’re watching a film. I highly doubt the film will have any rap music in the soundtrack but in the trailer it was horrible.

So I’m really looking forward to this film. Yes, there is still a huge chance it’s going to be dreadful, as video game films have never worked and personally I don’t have much hope for Warcraft. This trailer has given me some more hope and there’s still some cast member we haven’t seen yet, that I’m looking forward to seeing. Hopefully Assassin’s Creed will jump start the video game genre and we can see even more awesome adaptations.

What did you think of the trailer and do you think Assassin’s Creed is going to be any good?

Follow me on YBGgi9BO

