Jeff Goldblum & Karl Urban in Thor: Ragnarok 

Marvel announced that Jeff Goldblum & Karl Urban have joined the new Thor film scheduled for release in 2017. With no Natalie Portman, 95% of the film in space, Cate Blanchett, Thor, Hulk and now Goldblum & Urban, Thor 3 has become my most anticipated Marvel film. Goldblum is one of the funnest actors to watch on screen, purely for his strange tics and speech patterns. Karl Urban must have the most geek cred of any actor, with all the franchises he’s been a part of and his girlfriend is Starbuck from Battlestar Galactica! I can’t wait to see how all this talent comes together and what kind of crazy journey we’re going to experience.

Jeff-Goldblum-jeff-goldblum-14035249-360-451dredd 3d screening 190912

 

Harley Quinn Spinoff Film

Margot Robbie is staring as Harley Quinn in her own spinoff film, according to The suicide-squadHollywood Reporter. I think announcing this before Suicide Squad has even been released, shows DC have confidence in Robbie’s portrayal of Harley Quinn but could also come back to bite them, if the fans don’t respond with the same confidence. From everything I’ve seen, this sounds like a great idea and DC getting ahead of Marvel with two female lead films, can only be positive publicity.

 

Ghostbusters Trailer 2

I was going to do a full post on this one trailer but I realised I’d be repeating everything I said about the first one. Every joke missed, the tone was goofy but I liked the visuals. I still have a little bit of faith that this could turn out to be something good, only because of Paul Feig directing but this new trailer sucks just as much as the first.

ghostbusters-2016-trailer-slimer

 

Gareth Edward leaves Godzilla 2Gareth_Edwards_(13948426634)_(cropped)

Deadline reported that Gareth Edwards has left Godzilla 2. I was surprised to hear this news because when Edwards first got the Rogue One job, it seemed Legendary pushed Godzilla 2 back, to wait for him. I don’t know if this means Legendary will be moving Godzilla 2 forward or not but to be honest, I wasn’t the biggest fan of the first film so I’m happy we’re getting a different take the second time around.

 

Martin Scorsese’s, The Irishman 

Martin Scorsese’s much anticipated film, The Irishman was picked up at this years Cannes film festival but Joe Pesci passed on the role!? Initially the film was staring Robert De Niro, Al Pacino, Harvey Keitel and Pesci but he doesn’t seem to want to work anymore. With or without Pesci this film sounds awesome, it just would have been nice to see the reunion of him and De Niro on screen again. I’m a huge fan of everyone involved and cannot wait to see this finally happen.

robert-de-niro-martin-scorsese-15-4-10-kc

 

Well, that’s this weeks topic that I found interesting, what do you think about any of this weeks film news?

Follow me on YBGgi9BO

 

 

