Another year is over for Game of Thrones and another excellent season has finished. It was the first one helmed purely by Benioff and Weiss, without the guidance of the books and although I think a couple of characters could have been handled better, for the most part they did an awesome job. Now season 6 has finished, I’m going to look back over the last 10 episodes, count down my top 5 and give some predictions for next season.

Episode 1 – The Red Woman 

They started this season of with a great premiere that got you right back into the world of Game of Thrones. We had to wait another week for the resurrection of Jon Snow but Melisandre showed her true form and Brienne got to have her badass fight scene of the season. Looking back after those last two episodes, it’s hard to look at any of the other episodes as “jam-packed” but this first one back, went around to every character and every story, to set you up for what you were getting this year.

My full review

Episode 2 – Home 

One of the biggest moments of the season happened in episode 2, the revival of Jon Snow. I think almost everyone was convinced he was coming back but it was still a huge scene for fans and executed really well. We got to see Bran for the first time in a long time and Ramsay killed his father and new born brother, in one of the hardest scenes to watch ever! This was a fantastic episode filled with all different kinds of scenes and was one of the best this season.

My full review 

Episode 3 – Oathbreaker

Episode 3 slowed down a bit after two really fast paced episodes but we still saw a lot happen. We got one half of the Tower of Joy flashback, Jon Snow’s mic drop and Tyrion sitting and talking (which he did for 90% of this season). Lots happened in the North that was ultimately building towards the big battle, which we’ll be getting to soon.

My full review

Episode 4 – Book of the Stranger

This episode was amazing. Sansa and Jon had a powerful reunion, Baelish made his return and Daenerys took over the Dothraki in an epic scene only rivaled by the hatching of her dragons in season 1. This was when the Daenerys storyline picked up this season, that lead to her finally leaving Meereen at the end. I was so worried after the first 3 episodes, that Danny was going to have a boring season of waiting around to be rescued and then she breaks out and put to rest any fears I had.

My full review

Episode 5 – The Door

I was in the minority with this one, as I didn’t like the Hodor death scene. Don’t get me wrong, it was extremely sad and very well done but I don’t like the idea of Bran meddling with the past. I also thought the White Walker that attacked the Three-Eyed Raven, went down too easily and the White Walkers overall have been beaten with ease throughout the entire show. I loved everything else in the episode but for me it was one of the weakest this season.

My full review 

Episode 6 – Blood of My Blood

Benjen returned!! I was so happy to see uncle Benjen return and the download of information Bran got from the Three-Eyed Raven was fascinating and foreshadowed a big part of the finale. Jamie riding his horse up the steps was a cool visual and Daenerys riding Drogon was even cooler. Sam and Gilly took up a large portion of the episode and although they didn’t come back into play until the end, I still think this episode was important for what they will do in the future.

My full review 

Episode 7 – The Broken Man 

Another return in episode 7 and that was The Hound. It was nice to see him back but it wasn’t nice to see Ian McShane come and go in one episode. I’m still annoyed he’s not a recurring character but this episode did give us Lady Mormont! The Broken Man was a well written episode with great dialogue, a lot coming from Jon and Sansa recruiting for war. There were no big action scenes or crazy developments but this was a quiet episode that worked in every scene.

My full review

Episode 8 – No One 

I didn’t really like the Hodor stuff earlier in the season but in this episode was the first time in season 6, I thought they screwed up with some characters. The conclusion to Arya’s story with Jaqen was weak for me (despite the awesome chase scene) and killing Black Fish off screen was terrible. Bronn and Pod had some hilarious dialogue and The Mountain finally took out some High Sparrows but for me, this was the weakest episode of season 6.

My full review 

Episode 9 – Battle of the Bastards 

We went from the weakest of the season, to one of the greatest episodes of television ever! Before we even got to the battle, everything that happened in Meereen was excellent and then of course the Battle of Bastards was perfect. The death of Ramsay was as satisfying as it possibly could have been and Sansa being a badass has been one of my favorite aspects of this season. You’ll never see a battle on TV like this and HBO should be given a lot of credit, for allowing Benioff and Weiss to make this episode as big as it was.

My full review 

Episode 10 – The Winds of Winter 

Season finales don’t get anymore perfect than this. Everything you could have possibly wanted, happened in this big finale to one of the best seasons of any TV show. Explosions, theories confirmed, Daenerys on a boat, a king in the north and a badass speech from Lady Mormont! It was an episode filled with fan service but I ate that service up and enjoyed every second of it. It’s impossible to write everything I liked in one paragraph, so read my full review. 

My full review

 

Top 5 Episodes of Season 6 

5. Blood of My Blood

4. Home

3. The Book of the Stranger

2. Battle of Bastards

1. The Winds of Winter

 

Predictions 

As for predictions I’m terrible at getting things right. Looking back at some of my reviews for this season, I noticed how much I predicted wrongly throughout season 6 (I really thought Cersei would die). So take everything I’m about to say and the opposite will happen.

Daenerys will take the throne. It probably won’t be as easy as it seems but I think she will work her way to King’s Landing, conquering every place she goes and will ultimately sit at the Iron Throne. During all this I think Cersei will definitely die in season 7 and Jamie too. I’m also thinking Tyrion might go as well, meaning the Lannister family will be completely dead.

While Daenerys is taking over the South, I think the North will be dealing with the ever growing population of Whites and White Walkers. I think The Wall we be breached and destroyed towards the end of season 7, setting up an all out war between Fire and Ice in the final season. All the living Starks are in Westeros so I think they all need to come together. Arya, obviously is still working on her list but I think she should stop by for a chat with her family in Winterfell, if only for one episode. Bran has some pretty big news to tell Jon so he needs to come home too.

I love Game of Thrones and I’ve enjoyed review this season every week. I can’t wait for next year and I’ll definitely be watching and reviewing every episode when it returns.

What did you think of Game of Thrones, Season 6?

Follow me on YBGgi9BO

