Half the year is over which means there has been lots of good and bad films. So for this weeks top ten I’m counting down my favorite of the year so far. I haven’t seen everything I’ve wanted to this year including The Nice Guys and Sing Street but by the end of the year I will and hopefully their be on my list then.

10

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justicemaxresdefault

BvS has been debated to death, to the point I didn’t even want to put it on the list. I liked the film, it wasn’t perfect, it definitely got things wrong but overall I thought it was a good film. Batman was amazing, the introduction of Wonder Woman was great and visually it looked incredible.

My full review 

9

Zootopia720x405-zootopia

Disney animation has been on a roll for a while now, since Tangled and Zootopia was another film you can add to that list. This was a really fun time and it had a good message for children and adults. The animation was stunning and the Jason Bateman, fox character was one I really liked.

My full review

8

Green Roomgreen-room-patrick-stewart-macon-blair

I’ve only just seen this film so I haven’t been able to review it yet (probably will tomorrow) but it’s really great. Performance wise this film is outstanding, Patrick Stewart and Imogen Poots are amazing. It was hard to watch Anton Yelchin after his recent, tragic passing but he was a fantastic actor and he was excellent in this film.

7

Keanukeanu-movie

I wasn’t familiar with Key and Peele going into this film, so with low expectation I was blown away by how funny Keanu was. I was laughing constantly throughout the entire film and I cared about the characters and their journey. I’m a sucker for cats and Keanu is one of the cutest animals put on screen.

My full review 

6

The Witchthe-witch-still

I’m not a huge Horror fan but when it’s done right, I can appreciate a good film. The Witch was excellent from start to finish. It was creepy, tense and had some good characters and acting. The Witch created an atmosphere that was eerie and had me scared the whole film. It took twist and turns that had me guessing throughout.

My full review

5

Kung Fu Panda 3 KFP3_sq500_s75.3_f106_FIN_

I love the Kung Fu Panda series, it’s one of my favorite animated franchises and the third installment was no different from the others. It’s hilarious, fun and the animation is so fast, it throws visual jokes at you every second. Compared to the previous two films, I thought the villain was a little weak but other than that I loved Kung Fu Panda 3.

My full review 

4

Deadpool deadpool-2-boyfriend-pic

So far Deadpool has been the funniest film I’ve seen all year! The self aware and meta jokes, for someone who’s wrapped up in the comic book world, made me laugh harder than any other film. Ryan Reynolds is perfect as Deadpool and even after the film came out and made way more money than expected, Reynolds is still promoting and pushing the film. It was R-Rated in every sense and didn’t let anyone down who was excited to finally see the real version of Deadpool.

My full review

3

10 Cloverfield LaneRichard-ThePsychologicalFakeryof10CloverfieldLane-1200

This film is awesome just for John Goodman alone. I loved this film. It’s tense, gripping and has three lead performance that are brilliant. It keeps you guess about who to trust, what’s going on and what has happened. It’s a film that takes place in one small location, with three characters and you feel every bit claustrophobic as they do. I almost liked every second of this film until the last 5 minutes but that doesn’t stop it from being one of my favorites of the year so far.   

My full review 

2

The Jungle BookTHE JUNGLE BOOK

When they announced they were doing a Jungle Book film, I thought it was a stupid idea and I didn’t really like the trailers. But when I got in the cinema and sat down, within 5 minutes I was wrapped up in the jungles of India and never left till the credits rolled. The voice cast was fantastic, the effects were flawless and the music fit perfectly. I’m sold on 3 or 4 of these films, if they can keep the quality up.

My full review 

1

Captain America: Civil Warcaptain-america-civil-war

As a huge fan of Marvel and The Winter Soldier being my favorite of the films, I had high expectations for Civil War and it didn’t disappoint. There’s non-stop action throughout yet it still maintained an interesting and developed story. The introduction of new characters like Spider-Man and Black Panther were handled better than you could have imagined and they improved on all the old ones. It’s been the clear favorite of the summer among fans and it’s my favorite film of 2016 so far.

My full review 

 

Honorable Mentions 

Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping

Eddie the Eagle

X-Men: Apocalypse

Midnight Special

Hail, Caesar!

Huntsman: Winter’s War

 

Next Week – Top Ten 90s Films

 

Follow me on YBGgi9BO

