OK, here we go….

Suicide Squad stars, Will Smith (Men in Black, I Am Legend), Jared Leto (Requiem for a Dream, Dallas Buyers Club), Margot Robbie (The Wolf of Wall Street, Focus), Viola Davis (The Help, Prisoners) and is directed by David Ayer (Fury, End of Watch).

A government agency headed up by Amanda Waller, creates a team full of Meta-Humans and specially gifted criminals to take on the most dangerous missions. When an evil presence reveals itself on earth, the team must come together to defeat the evil and save earth (you know, like the previous 30 comic book films).

It’s been a few days since I saw this film, so I’ve had a lot of time to consume my thoughts and absorb all the drama going on. Since the announcement of a Suicide Squad film and after the incredible trailers, I’ve been hype out of my mind to see it and although it’s not as good as I hoped, it’s still really good. By the time I went into the cinema on opening night and sat in my seat, I had put all the early reviews and controversy behind me and enjoy this film for what it was, a fun, character driven comic book film. Now similar to BvS, I liked Suicide Squad but it’s far from flawless, so let’s get into the good and the bad from this film.

Like I said, this film is very character driven so almost all my positives are how excellently the characters were portrayed. Starting with Harley Quinn and The Joker. I’ve been a huge fan of Harley Quinn since Batman: The Animated Series and with the casting of Margot Robbie, I was excited to see this character on the big screen. She doesn’t disappoint in anyway. Every line, every joke, every action was exactly how I imagined a live-action Harley Quinn would be. There’s some great easter eggs for big fans of hers and as a big fan, I can say this is the perfect adaptation of her we’ll probably ever see. Speaking of adaptations, this is the fourth live-action Joker and it amazes me how different (and brilliant) they all are. He’s only in a few scenes but Jared Leto killed it in this role and I can’t wait to see him and Margot Robbie again going forward in the DCEU.

I think a lot of people, myself included, were worried that Will Smith would take over this film and it would become Will Smith: featuring the Suicide Squad, well it’s not. He probably gets the most time out of the squad but he doesn’t take over. However, the old, badass, action star Will Smith does come to play and he’s awesome. It’s been so long since Will Smith was cool in a film but his interpretation of Deadshot was my favorite to watch. There’s a scene where he is wiping out bad guys one after the other, it’s one of the most badass action scenes I’ve seen in a comic book film ever! Even more than Harley Quinn and Joker, I want to see Deadshot in the Batman Solo film, if it means we get to see this Will Smith back in action.

That’s the heavy hitters of the Suicide Squad but what made this team solid throughout, was the members you’re not expecting to steal the show. Diablo was a character I knew nothing about, I left this film with maybe the most emotional connection to him. He has a powerful backstory that took me by surprise and really made me care about him. Jay Hernandez who plays him, again I was unfamiliar with but he was great in the role. Jai Courtney however, is an actor I loved in Spartacus and since then I’ve thought his been a soulless plank of wood in every film role he’s had, until Captain Boomerang. Jai Courtney was hilarious as Boomerang and he was making me laugh more than any other character. In this much smaller role than some he’s been given recently, he showed he has charisma and still has acting talent.

There’s a lot of characters and big personalities in the Suicide Squad and they come together with great chemistry, to form a really fun team. Not a criticism I’ve had but I’m well aware a lot of fans have wanted humor in the DC films, well if that’s what you’ve wanted Suicide Squad is funny. Whether it be a one liners or witty banter between characters, the humor works in this film and fits the tone they were going for. Comparing this film to BvS, the pacing was much better, making this film fly by and I enjoyed it a lot.

There was one major issue with the film. I won’t reveal who it is but the villain is terrible. There’s actually two villains and they both suck. One is an underdeveloped, boring and sometimes laughable mess, whilst the other is a CGI blob and I’m still trying to figure out who he is, why he’s there and what he was doing. Not only are the villains boring but their big evil plan is the same one you’ve seen in almost every big blockbuster film ever. There’s a big machine thing, it’s destroying the world but if you hit it in the right place it shuts down and everything goes back to normal. The beginning of the film I thought over used the soundtrack but that fades away, the middle is awesome but the horrible final act, saps the energy this film had going and leaves you on a really bad note.

Suicide Squad had a very thin story but I thought that was OK. This is all about the characters, I truly think that’s what they were going for and they succeeded. I can’t wait to see this film again and I hope we see many more of these films in the future.

8/10

Have you seen Suicide Squad and what did you think of it?

Follow me on YBGgi9BO

