Joe Manganiello is Deathstroke joe_manganiello_july_2015

Last week Ben Affleck revealed Deathstroke, now we have official casting of Joe Manganiello as Slade Wilson. I only know Manganiello from the first Magic Mike film (never saw the second one) so I can’t say much on him as an actor but he definitely looks the part. I’m still hoping he’ll make his first appearance in the solo Batman film, I don’t need to see Deathstroke in Justice League and with Affleck directing Manganiello in the role, I think we’d see the perfect introduction to the character.

Underworld: Blood Wars 

I love the Underworld franchise (not including the fourth one). I know no one is really interested in these films but I still am. Kate Beckinsale kills it as Selene and from this trailer it looks like she’s going to again. I’m worried they showed the big reveal of the film at the end of the trailer but other than that this trailer gave me the impression they were getting back to Vampires vs Lycans and hopefully as far away from Underworld Awakening as possible. Even if no one else does, I’ll be going to see Underworld: Blood Wars!

underworld-bad-blood

Free Fire Trailer

The other trailer that caught my attention this week was a new Brie Larson film, Free Fire. This was the first I had heard about this film and it looks awesome. I only watched about half of the Red Band trailer and then I was sold but from what I saw, this looks like Snatch meets Reservoir Dogs. It has an amazing cast, you put Brie Larson in anything and you’ve got my interest but also Ben Wheatley directed this, he directed this years High-Rise which I’ve heard great things about and is on the top of my watch list for 2016. I can’t wait to see this film and it’s now one of my most anticipated for next year.

free-fire

The Shocker in Spider-Man 

So my only knowledge of The Shocker is beating his ass in the Spider-Man PlayStation 1 game. From some leaked set photos we now know he’s going to appear in Marvel’s Spider-Man: Homecoming film next year. I’m cool with that. I doubt he’ll play a big role, maybe he’ll serve as a way to show off Spider-Man’s powers in the opening of the film. If it wasn’t Marvel making this, I’d probably be worried they were rushing into too many villains but the MCU’s track record is not to be argued with. I’m excited to see this villain.

spider-man-homecoming-set-photos-shocker1

Johnny Depp in Labyrinth mv5bmtm0odu5nzk2ov5bml5banbnxkftztcwmzi2odgynq-_v1_uy1200_cr10606301200_al_

The final story this week comes from The Hollywood Reporter. They’re reporting that Johnny Depp is playing the police detective who investigated the murders of Biggie Smalls & Tupac in the biopic, Labyrinth, no this is not a remake of the 1986 David Bowie film Labyrinth, calm down! This to me, is the perfect role I want to see Depp in. Willy Wonka, Jack Sparrow and The Mad Hatter drive me insane and have been a waste of Depp’s incredible talent. Last year he was amazing as Whitey Bulger and to see him go back to another real character is something I love hearing about. I was already intrigued by this film, now with Johnny Depp attached, I can’t wait.

Film news has been a bit slow this week but I managed to find a few stories that interested me. What do you think about any of the topics I discuss or any I didn’t mention that peaked your attention this week?

Follow me on ybggi9bo

