An amazing new Rogue One trailer and now loads of information for Fantastic Beasts… what a day to be alive.

My excitement and fandom for The Wizarding World has died down since the final film in 2011 and even the first few trailers for Fantastic Beasts haven’t got me super pumped. Well after this fan event my mind was blown and right now even more than Doctor Strange, Rogue One and everything else coming out, I want to see this film right now. The possibilities of where they could be going with this new series of films is so exciting, so lets get into everything that happened at this event.

The Featurette 

They started with a new trailer/featurette and it was awesome. I have to be honest, I haven’t been up to date on Fantastic Beasts rumors and news, I haven’t even seen the newest trailer before this, so there might have been reveals that had already been rumored but for me this was all new. Grindelwald’s name being drop and seeing his name on the paper blew my mind. At first I was worried this was giving away too much because the entire film has changed from catching beasts, to stopping Grindelwald but after hearing more about where this series of films is probably going, I don’t think it will matter in the grand scheme of things. Also if you don’t know who Grindelwald is, he’s the second most evil wizard (right under Voldemort) and has the greatest wizarding battle of all time with Dumbledore, more on that later. 

fb-event-1
Is this Grindelwald!?

Again, at first I was concerned about the idea of No-maj’s in New York discovering the magical world but it would be something new and does also fit along the same lines as what Grindelwald ultimately wanted to do. It’s also magic in the 1920s, we’re a long way away from the world introduced to us in the Harry Potter series, a lot can happen in that time.

The one negative takeaway from the featurette is that some of the CGI creatures didn’t look that great to me but I’m willing to look past that, now that I know what’s coming.

New Cast 

For me, this was the first time I got introduced to most of the actors in this film. Obviously I know Eddie Redmayne, Colin Farrell John Voight and I’ve seen Katherine Waterston pop up over the years but Dan Fogler and Alison Sudol I was completely unfamiliar with. I love these kind of events and panels that you usually see at conventions because it give you a connection to these actors and I’m now vastly more fascinating in the characters they’re playing. It’s also really cool to see these more unknown actors like Sudol and Fogler overwhelmed by the experience, it shows that they care about this film and that’s always good to see as a fan. I instantly fell in love with all the actors and actress we saw and I can’t wait to meet them on screen.

fb-event-2

5 Films!

So J.K. Rowling made a surprise appearance at the end of the event, to announce that she’s writing and they’re making 5 of these films. HOLY SHIT! The immediate reaction is to panic and start to worry they’re trying to milk this franchise with 5 films but I really don’t think so. With the reveal of Grindelwald, I’m starting to feel like this series of films is not so much about Newt Scamander but more about building towards a huge, epic battle.

If you don’t know, back in the day, Dumbledore and Grindelwald were good friends (maybegellert_grindelwald_and_albus_dumbledore even more) but during a fight that broke out between the two of them and Dumbledore’s brother Aberforth, Dumbledore’s sister was hit by a curse and was killed. It was never known who had cast the spell and so the two friends went their separate ways. Dumbledore went through the teaching ranks at Hogwarts, whilst Grindelwald became obsessed with world domination and power. It ultimately ended with a 3 hour duel between the two friends and OMG that might be where this series is heading!

 

I can’t say for sure we’re going to see that fight but Dumbledore’s voice was used a couple of times and his name has been dropped in the trailers. David Yates and Rowling mentioned the two wizards at the event, so yeah, all the clues lead to one thing. The one thing I wanted to see in the Fantastic Beast series was cool, creative duels like the incredible one at the end of Order of Phoenix and they’re going to give us just that. As for casting I want to see Tom Hiddleston as Grindelwald (not the guy who played him briefly in DH part 1) and as for a young Dumbledore I can’t think of anyone right now, if you got any suggestions leave them in the comments would love to hear more ideas.

This event for me has sparked my love for Rowling’s Wizarding World  (I’ve started reading the books all over again) and got me so excited for the new film and future ones. What did you think of this event and who do you think should play Grindelwald and Dumbledore?

Follow me on ybggi9bo

