THR is reporting, that Fox studios is hitting reset and rebooting the X-Men series under Simon Kinberg as writer and producer.

There’s a lot going on right now over at Fox when it comes to X-Men. Deadpool 2 problems, Gambit problems, Hugh Jackman’s final Wolverine film, a New Mutans film and now they’re starting all over again? It should be noted, THR also reported that long time X-Men director Bryan Singer will not return and the script is ‘optimistically’ being wrote with Jennifer Lawrence, Michael Fassbender and James McAvoy in mind.

As a whole, I think this is a good idea. I have some problems with a reboot but for the most part I like it. It may be having a bit of trouble right now but Deadpool 2 is the perfect place to kick-start this new iteration of the X-Men. From the first Deadpool film, we know that the X-Men are a part of his world but with the exception of a few fourth wall breaks, we never knew which X-Men. We have a new Colossus who was great, now I think Fox should build upon that.

It would be a smart move to get the New Mutants film out before we see a new X-Men film, so us as fans can have a break from Wolverine, Magneto, Xavier, Mystique and the others, to create more desire to see them again. A longer break would also give us more time to separate the previous actors from the old ones because I don’t think any of them are coming back.

The report says, Kinberg is ‘optimistically’ writing with Lawrence, Fassbender and McAvoy in mind but to me that means there’s a really small chance we’ll see them again. With X-Men: Apocalypse, the three actors came to the end of their contracts with Fox and after Apocalypse didn’t bring in the money at the box office Fox wanted it to, I don’t think they’re going to spend the money to get them back. I thought Lawrence was awful in Apocalypse so I don’t care if they lose her and although I think both Fassbender and McAvoy are excellent in their roles, if Fox is rebooting the franchise then I think they need to completely reboot it.  

However if Fox is to completely reset the world, then it will cause some casualties. One of my favourite aspects of Apocalypse was the new cast they introduced. Sophie Turner, Tye Sheridan and Kodi Smit-Mcphee were all great, especially Turner’s Jean Grey but does this now mean we’re losing these actors after the small time we spent with them? And we’re not going to get anymore of Evan Peter’s Quicksilver!? I was excited to see one final film set in the 90s, with the new X-Men cast but I guess we’ll have to forget about that now.

I don’t know if Fox really need to reboot the franchise after 1 miss step but it seems they are, so we’re just going to have to deal with it.

What do you think about Fox rebooting the X-Men and do you think it’s needed?

Follow me on ybggi9bo 

