District 9 (2009)

Director – Neill Blomkamp

Stars – Sharlto Copley, Vanessa Haywood, Jason Cope, 

wp_20161109_15_20_36_pro

Oh Neill Blomkamp what happened to you?

Back in 2009, I was ready to hand over the reigns to anything Neill Blomkamp wanted to do. He came out with this film and it was a revelation, then came Elysium and then CHAPPIE! oh, the horror.

Despite what Blomkamp did after District 9, it doesn’t take away from how incredible this film is. The realistic world created was so immersive and although there were aliens running around everywhere, I thought I was watch our future. The character of Wikus and the performance of Copley, carries this film with so much heart and emotion, that keeps you invested throughout. Seeing the story of an alien father and son, was original and fascinating.  I don’t know how Blomkamp fell so far from the top but District 9 was beautifully shot, told and still remains one of my favourite Sci-Fi films.

Follow me on ybggi9bo

