From the upside down to the king of monsters, Millie Bobby Brown is really starting to make a name for herself and now she’s taking on the giant lizard himself, Godzilla!

THR reported earlier today that ‘Stranger Things’ actress Millie Bobby Brown is set to star in ‘Godzilla: King of the Monsters’, the sequel to 2014’s ‘Godzilla’. Details about the character Brown is playing, still remain a mystery, along with the films plot and as of yet, no other cast members have been announced. The sequel is set to hit cinemas in 2019, with ‘Krampus’ director Michael Dougherty at the helm.

One of my highlights in 2016 was ‘Stranger Things’, I binged through that show several times last year and Millie Bobby Brown was one of the standouts, that I was rooting for to get more work. Although I have my concerns about this ‘Godzilla’ sequel, I’m just happy Millie is getting, what I’m assuming is a big role, in a blockbuster film that will have lots of eyes on it. She has great potential to be an even more fantastic actress and right now, this is a good career move for her.

As for the role she will have, I’m intrigued to see what it is but also slightly trepidatious. Brown is 12 years old, I can’t imagine her taking on Godzilla and in monster movies, the child character is usually only there to cry and be scared. I hope there’s more to this, than her just playing the main character’s daughter, who becomes an annoying burden on the excitement and pace of the film but what other role could she have? When thinking about this, all I can envision is Dakota Fanning in ‘War of the Worlds’, and I’d want more for Millie Brown. 

So although I think this is a good career move, I don’t know if this role will be a chance for Millie Bobby Brown to show off her acting abilities. Maybe she’ll be a baby Godzilla? Oh god, now I’m having visions of Justin Long in ‘Tusk’.

What do you think about this casting and how pumped are you for Stranger Things season 2?… I know I am!

Follow me on ybggi9bo

