Well… FUCK!

Variety have reported Ben Affleck is not directing The Batman.

“There are certain characters who hold a special place in the hearts of millions,” Affleck said in a statement. “Performing this role demands focus, passion and the very best performance I can give. It has become clear that I cannot do both jobs to the level they require. Together with the studio, I have decided to find a partner in a director who will collaborate with me on this massive film. I am still in this, and we are making it, but we are currently looking for a director. I remain extremely committed to this project, and look forward to bringing this to life for fans around the world.”

Even if you didn’t like BvS, or Suicide Squad and you have no hope for Wonder Woman and Justice League, everyone agreed a Ben Affleck directed Batman film was going to be the one thing that couldn’t possibly go wrong for DC, well it has. I can’t believe this has happened and honestly, I’m about ready to give up with DC. Every week there’s a news story about DC and they’re never positive and for that reason, I can’t believe Affleck’s reasons for stepping down as director.

So before I get to why I don’t believe him, I should first acknowledge that it’s very possible that what he said is true. Throughout 2016, Affleck showed he can get emotional when it comes to his films and he takes the reaction to his work very personally, we all remember ‘Sad Affleck’. Recently on Jimmy Kimmel, he expressed his frustration with people constantly asking him about directing The Batman and the pressure was obviously getting to him. But if that means he only want to play Batman, then another director will be involved and therefore another creative voice. This film went from being the most promising, to most messy.

Why I can’t fully believe Ben Affleck’s reasons for stepping down, is DC have a track record of losing creative people behind their films. Wonder Woman once lost a director, The Flash has gone through directors and been wrote what feels like a hundred times, there’s been issues with Batman v Superman, Suicide Squad and now I’m forced to think there’s more going on here. I don’t know if Affleck isn’t getting along with Geoff Johns, producers or what but to me, Warner Brothers are the common thread in these mishaps with the DC films and I’m just about done with trying to get excited for their projects.

But now we get to the question of who should replace Affleck as director? Before any names are mentioned, the most important thing, is who ever it is, he and Affleck have to be on the same page. If you get someone with competing ideas with Affleck then this film creatively is going to get nasty. So then the first people I look to, are directors Affleck has worked successfully with recently. The Accountant directed by Gavin O’Connor was a solid film Affleck did last year and I think O’Connor would do a great job with The Batman. Obviously Gone Girl was incredible but I don’t know if David Fincher would be the right fit for this universe or if he would even want to do it.

Apparently, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes director Matt Reeves, is among a shortlist Warner Bros. has put together and I would love that choice too, as long as Reeves and Affleck get along. Personally, even though I know there’s no chance, I’m waving the Nolan flag, things started to go wrong when he left DC.

What’s your thoughts on this horrible news and who would you like to see take over as director?

Follow me on ybggi9bo

