Sunday night will see the conclusion of award season, with the 89th Academy Awards. There’s a lot of interesting categories this year and some choices that were hard to make. So I’m going to give you my predictions on who should win and who I think will win in every category, excluding the short films, documentary and foreign language ones… I can’t watch everything.

Best Visual Effects

Deepwater Horizon

Doctor Strange

The Jungle Book

Kubo and the Two Strings

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

 

What will win – The Jungle Book

What should win – The Jungle Book

Starting off the predictions with a clear winner, The Jungle Book. The other films had great effects but The Jungle Book actually made me believe a bear was talking to a boy, nothing came close to it this year.

 

Best Film Editing

Arrival

Hacksaw Ridge

Hell or High Water

La La Land

Moonlight

 

What will win – La La Land

What should win – La La Land

This begins the run of La La Land’s wins and for the most part they’re all well deserved. The filmmaking behind La La Land, for me was the most impressive aspect of the film and the editing was on point, putting this spectacle together.

 

Best Costume Design

Allied

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Florence Foster Jenkins

Jackie

La La Land

 

What will win – La La Land

What should win – Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

La La Land will probably win but with the exception of Emma Stone’s yellow dress, was there any other memorable clothing? Fantastic Beasts put me right back into the Harry Potter universe and one of the main reasons was because of the costumes. Also, I really liked Fantastic Beasts and it would be nice to see something other than the usual, get a nod this weekend.

 

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

A Man Called Ove

Star Trek Beyond

Suicide Squad

 

What will win – A Man Called Ove

What should win – Star Trek Beyond

Honestly, never saw A Man Called Ove but it was nominated for best foreign film, so with that terrible logic, I’m predicting it will win for Makeup and Hairstyling.

 

Best Cinematography

Arrival

La La Land

Lion

Moonlight

Silence

 

What will win – La La Land

What should win – La La Land

Although I’m pretty confident La La Land will win, either of the other 4 would be deserving. Arrival would be my second choice but I’d be fine with any of the films winning.

 

Best Production Design

Arrival

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Hail, Caesar!

La La Land

Passengers

 

What will win – La La Land

What should win – La La Land

Arrival could win this one but really it’s a clear winner in La La Land.

 

Best Sound Mixing

Arrival

Hacksaw Ridge

La La Land

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi

 

What will win – La La Land

What should win – Arrival  

La La Land, being a musical will mostly likely take the Oscar for this one but the sound in Arrival is incredible and is a huge part of the atmosphere in that film. For me, the way all the sound was mixed together in Arrival was done better than any other film last year but I expect La La Land will win.  

 

Best Sound Editing

Arrival

Deepwater Horizon

Hacksaw Ridge

La La Land

Sully

 

What will win – Hacksaw Ridge

What should win – Arrival

Again, the sound in Arrival should get recognition but I don’t think it will. I wouldn’t be surprised if La La Land takes both sound categories but I have a feeling the academy will pick Hacksaw Ridge for sound editing, as it is a loud, hard-hitting war film.

 

Best Original Song

“Audition (The Fools Who Dream)” from La La Land

“Can’t Stop the Feeling!” from Trolls

“City of Stars” from La La Land

“The Empty Chair” from Jim: The James Foley Story

“How Far I’ll Go” from Moana

 

What will win – “City of Stars” from La La Land

What should win – “Audition (The Fools Who Dream)” from La La Land

La La Land is getting another statue with this category, the question is what song will win? “City of Stars” is the more commercial of the two songs, it’s fun to hum along to (they even released a hummed version on the soundtrack) and it became the most popular of the two, so I think it will win.

 

Best Original Score

Jackie

La La Land

Lion

Moonlight

Passengers

 

What will win – La La Land

What should win – La La Land

This is the biggest lock, of the entire awards. Justin Hurwitz is winning for his beautiful score and that’s that!

 

Best Animated Feature

Kubo and the Two Strings

Moana

My Life as a Zucchini

The Red Turtle

Zootopia

 

What will win – Zootopia

What should win – Kubo and the Two Strings

I haven’t seen My Life as a Zucchini yet but the other 4 films in this category are all really good. My favorite is Kubo and I hope it wins but I’m leaning slightly to Zootopia getting the Oscar.

 

Best Adapted Screenplay

Arrival

Fences

Hidden Figures

Lion

Moonlight

 

What will win – Moonlight

What should win – Arrival

By the time we get through all these predictions, it will be clear I like Arrival… a lot. For me, it was the best screenplay, adapted, original, whatever category you want to put it in. So I want it to win but as I believe best picture is a race between La La Land and Moonlight, I think each film will get a nod for screenplay in these two screenplay categories.  

 

Best Original Screenplay

Hell or High Water

La La Land

The Lobster

Manchester by the Sea

20th Century Women

 

What will win – La La Land

What should win – La La Land

This is another category I’m almost certain La La Land will win. I don’t think it’s the best screenplay of 2016 but it is the best of these 5 nominated.

 

Best Supporting Actress

Viola Davis – Fences

Naomie Harris – Moonlight

Nicole Kidman – Lion

Octavia Spencer – Hidden Figures

Michelle Williams – Manchester by the Sea

 

Who will win – Viola Davis – Fences

Who should win – Viola Davis – Fences

Fences is one of those films that comes out around Oscar season, that is a tour de force of acting but the overall film is just OK. So if you look at the category objectively, without a doubt Viola Davis was the best supporting actress, despite what I may think of Fences as a film.  

 

Best Supporting Actor

Mahershala Ali – Moonlight

Jeff Bridges – Hell or High Water

Lucas Hedges – Manchester by the Sea

Dev Patel – Lion

Michael Shannon – Nocturnal Animals

 

Who will win – Mahershala Ali – Moonlight

Who should win – Jeff Bridges – Hell or High Water

This is a weird one for me because none of these actors were in my top 4 supporting actors of the year. Dev Patel was not the supporting actor in Lion, Mahershala Ali was brilliant in Moonlight but didn’t blow me away like he did for others and I thought Aaron Taylor-Johnson was better in Nocturnal Animals than Michael Shannon. I expect Ali will win but out of these 5, I would give it to Jeff Bridges.

 

Best Actress

Isabelle Huppert – Elle

Ruth Negga – Loving

Natalie Portman – Jackie

Emma Stone – La La Land

Meryl Streep – Florence Foster Jenkins

 

Who will win – Emma Stone – La La Land

Who should win – Emma Stone – La La Land

This is Emma’s year, she’s winning every award she can and she’s winning the Oscar on Sunday!

 

Best Actor

Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea

Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge

Ryan Gosling – La La Land

Viggo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic

Denzel Washington – Fences

 

Who will win – Denzel Washington – Fences

Who should win – Casey Affleck

I was convinced this was Affleck’s year and until the SAG Awards I was sure he was winning the Oscars. History tells us, when you win the SAG Award, you win the Oscar too and Denzel took the SAG earlier this year and from that night on my prediction changed. Similar to my views on Fences, I thought Manchester by the Sea was OK but performance-wise it was incredible. Casey Affleck gave a career defining performance but I think Denzel will win.

 

Best Director

Denis Villeneuve – Arrival

Mel Gibson – Hacksaw Ridge

Damien Chazelle – La La Land

Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea

Barry Jenkins – Moonlight

 

Who will win – Damien Chazelle – La La Land

Who should win – Denis Villeneuve – Arrival

Although personally I would give the Oscar to Villeneuve, I won’t lose any sleep if Chazelle wins. I loved La La Land, it was masterfully crafted and Damien Chazelle deserves all the credit he’s getting. I think there’s a chance Barry Jenkins could take it for Moonlight but I would put my money on Chazelle.  

 

Best Picture

Arrival

Fences

Hacksaw Ridge

Hell or High Water

Hidden Figures

La La Land

Lion

Manchester by the Sea

Moonlight

 

What will win – La La Land

What should win – Arrival

With the exception of 2 (Fences and Manchester by the Sea), this is a list of great films and shows, even if the summer season was disappointing, 2016 was an awesome year for film. There’s a lot more films that could have easily been on this list and although I think there’s a clear winner, the majority of the films are best picture worthy. Moonlight has a chance to win, after the ensemble cast win at the SAG awards, I think Hidden Figures has an outside chance but La La Land will end the run of several wins, with the big one at the end of the night.

 

So there’s my predictions for Sunday’s Oscars and despite having an awful track record, I’m confident in my picks. I love award season and predictions is the best part about it, so let me know, what are your predictions for the 2017 Oscars?

Follow me on ybggi9bo

